Smart Assistance – Dance Composition Part XIII

Friday, April 10, 2015

Angie came to our rehearsal today, on my request. She’s a member of the Dance faculty here at Hope, and probably the professor from whom I have had the most classes. It has taken me a long time to begin to appreciate her style of movement – it is very different from mine, and most of the tie, I don’t understand it. However, the more I work with her, the more I begin to appreciate her choreographic process, and the ideas that inspire her work.

She does quite a bit of work with the Arts – creating dance pieces that integrate other forms of Art into themselves. Sculpture, painting, poetry, music…she has created dance pieces that involve them all, often at the same time. So, she is naturally one who I would ask for feedback from with my piece, incorporating as it does poetry into the movement. Steven and Angie are both closely involved in the Student Dance Showcase this year; organizing it and heading everything up, and all that. They offered themselves as available to come watch a rehearsal if we wanted. I’m not sure if anyone else took them up on this offer, but I definitely did.

Angie had many good suggestions. She was able to help me quite a bit with putting ideas of movement that dancers understand inherently into words that a theater fellow could grasp as well. We worked for quite a while on the opening section of the piece, and Jared’s interactions with the dancers. I’m ever so happy with what we came up with ultimately, in terms of changes made to the piece. I’m so excited for my next rehearsal. Angie had many good ideas for me to think on, and I wasn’t able to give all the corrections and changes to my dancers that I wanted to, as we ran out of time in the rehearsal. So next time we meet? We’ll blast a few more changes out and get this thing looking top-hole. We only have one more rehearsal before Tech…

Oh gosh. What am I going to do with myself once all this is done?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. vtgrandview says:

    When all is done you will come home and rest. :)

    Like

  2. mariertps says:

    Pray tons for us newbs in college who are about to drown and die XD *pats* no but seriously, I hope you find an amazing place to go after college. *nods* Even if it means getting to stay home (cause I’m jealous of your home.)

    Like

Thoughts?

