Success! – Dance Composition Part XI

Sunday, March 29, 2015

I’M SO PROUD OF MY LADIES AND MY POETRY READER AND MYSELF! Gotta say, guys, I never thought I could do this. I didn’t think I could ever create something so amazing. I’m sure I’ll look back on this piece ten years from now and think, “Golly, what was I thinking, this is terribly juvenile and pathetic stuff.” But right now? My piece is more amazing than I thought something I created could possibly be, and my dancers are wonderful and skilled, and Jared’s reading is perfect. How do these things happen?? I wish I could show this to the whole world.

Things really came together tonight. And guys, we’re done. I finished it. I taught the last choreography tonight, which didn’t take long, and we went over the ending several times until it no longer confuses people (myself being the one who probably felt the most confused out of everyone – my dancers know what’s up). And it looks fantastic. It looks amazing. It’s the best thing I’ve ever done – I really think it is. I’m so very proud of myself, and of the others who are helping me do this. It gives me hope – maybe later I won’t see it this way, but for now, it feels like I’ve made something good, done something important, engaged in subcreation in a way I’ve never done before. And guys, it feels. so. good.

I finished the piece. There’s just cleaning left to do now – as Steven says, once you finish the choreography, then the work really begins. I’m so excited to hear their comments on it at adjudications. Tomorrow night. Yeesh.

But I think we’re ready. If my people perform just the way they did at rehearsal this afternoon, it will be perfectly splendid. I have studios reserved for two more rehearsals between adjudications and the performances – that will be enough to make whatever changes the adjudicators suggest, and hopefully finish up cleaning. If not, I’ll book a third rehearsal time. But for now? We’re done. Adjudications are tomorrow night (Monday), and we are on our way to finding out when and where we perform! Glory be. I’m so excited. And so very, very proud.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. katharynjones says:

    It will be splendid! When can I come watch???

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      It will be so splendid you wont even know what hit you!! You can’t come to a rehearsal…it has to be a surprise =D I’ll let you know when I find out when we perform. Don’t worry. I will let the entire WORLD know. *cough* ;)

      Like

Thoughts?

