Ducks – Dance Composition Part IX

Sunday, March 22, 2015

After taking a week off (Spring Break), we’re back at it! This post will be short – I’m exhausted. After getting up at 3:30 this morning to get to the airport in time, I’ve spent approximately three and a half hours on airplanes today and about seven hours sitting around in airports waiting for things to happen. I arrived back on campus around 2:00pm this afternoon, and then went off to Meijer to buy food, and then went straight to our rehearsal. What.

I worked on the section I am calling “He Must Be” with my ladies, and then began working on the section I am calling “Brief.” For “He Must Be,” the poem makes a list of several things that a man must be before he can be considered wise, and things he must not be before he has lived in the world a while. I wanted a pose for each of these things – some of them being “patient,” “not hot-tongued,” “not timid,” etc. However, my creativity is beginning to wane a bit, and I was only able to come up with three poses. So, I have Patience, Hot-tongued, and Easily-led. the other words – gusto, greedy, timid, foolhardy, and the like – will just be left out of the movement. I’m happy with how it is working – it needs some tweaking, but “He Must Be” is pretty well set.

During my seven hours in the airport waiting, I began a little choreography for “Brief” – the section of the poem that states that the “earthly realm” is “fraught,” all human works fall to nothing, and mankind, friendship, life, are all transient. I have music chosen for this part – it’s fast, and has a strange sort of rhythm. It begins in sevens, rather than the usual eights or sixes, so it feels hurried – like the last count of each measure is squished out by the first count of the following one. I love that – it adds to the urgency of the piece. The music changes into eights a little less than halfway through, but the beginning, with the sevens, is brilliant enough to make the feeling of urgency continue throughout the rest of the music.

I wanted something fast and big for this – but there’s only so much you can do in an airport gate waiting area, surrounded by other people (who gave me the strangest looks…what, never seen someone choreographing before??). What I have now is a short phrase of about eight counts, with an arabesque chug into a reach and some wild soutenu turns. Nothing too big or fancy, but since the music is so fast, and it is in sevens instead of eights, I think it looks fine. My dancers are good sports – this section has a ton of running in it. Cardio workout each rehearsal?

The most interesting part of today, though, was the ten minute (literally ten minute) story Jared told us about ducks while we waited for Megan to show up. It was great. Apparently he’s haunted by them. Don’s ask.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Bessie Lark says:

    *really wants to ask* xD

    Like

  2. katharynjones says:

    Yay, ducks! :)

    Like

  3. Lalaithiel says:

    Anatidaephobia. It’s a thing.

    Like

Thoughts?

