Matrix Coats and Doughnuts – Dance Composition Part VII

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

We rehearsed late tonight – 9:30-11:00pm. It was the only time we could all get together – and thankfully, also a time when Jared could join us. After realizing how little time we have between now and adjudications, I was beginning to worry that we wouldn’t be able to work the poem itself into my piece.

I was quite a bit nervous going into this rehearsal. I had no idea how Jared would react to the things I wanted him to do. And no idea how easy (or hard) he would be to work with. He’s a theater boy, so the stage is very much not something new to him. But I don’t know the next thing about actors, and he’s one of those people who I always kind of wish I was cool enough to hang out with but know I’m really not. So. I was a bit afraid of working with him.

However, he showed up right on time, and signed the contract (yes. I have a contract that the Dance Department requires all choreographers to have their dancers sign. I’m cool). And was very nice.

Ah – have I mentioned how tall he is yet? And have I mentioned how short my dancers are? One of them especially is – I’m a head taller than her, if not more. The other two are more on the shorter end of average, but still small. And then Jared. It’s great. It’s actually one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen, him standing next to my dancers. I love it. But back to the rehearsal.

It went swell. So, so much better than I dared to expect! Jared was great – jumping into the Old English like a boss. I handed him a copy of the poem right then – he had only a few minutes to look at it before I was asking him to read it aloud. I felt kind of bad for that.

Only one of my dancers, Megan, knew Jared previously. Gabby knew who he was – he’s kind of hard to miss. Katie, however, didn’t, and her first comment on walking into the studio and seeing him was, “Oh! YOU’RE Jared! Yea, I know you! You’re the guy who wears the Matrix coats and always plays the villain in the theater productions!”

He seemed quite pleased with this reputation. Also, I can vouch for it being 100% accurate.

I was quite glad for Katie, though. She’s a spunky little thing – loves puns and sarcasm as much as I do, and isn’t afraid to lay it on thick. Her humor, I think, helped the rehearsal to go as well as it did. She definitely kept us all laughing, and wasn’t afraid to poke good-natured fun at Jared just as much as she did at the rest of us. Which was great. Jokes make everything better.

In terms of the rehearsal itself, we definitely made very good progress. I only had a very little bit more to teach, in terms of choreography, so we mainly worked on integrating the spoken poem into the movement we already had. It’s going to be amazing when it’s done. Hearing the words of the poem while seeing my dancers move was so powerful – I’m so proud of all of them, and of Jared (especially Jared, for reading Old English out loud without any previous practice). I’ve still got the hardest parts of the choreography to do, but Jared was very interested in the music I was using, and seemed to like the choreography I already have as well, and it wasn’t as hard as I anticipated, to integrate his reading of the poem into the movement. So I think we’ll be okay. I think we can get this done and in good shape before adjudications. Good lord, I hope so.

After rehearsal, I took my cast to Good Time, the creepy doughnut shop off the corner of campus that is only opened between the hours of about 9:00pm and 6:00am, only lit by the dim light inside the display case that showcases the types of doughnuts for sale, and run by a little Asian man who is so short the top of the counter is at his eye level and who is notorious for not actually wearing any pants. I bought them all doughnuts and it was great.

Gee. I can’t wait to meet with these folks again for another rehearsal! They’re the best, and I’m so very proud of them, dancers and readers alike!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. rebeccadfox says:

    You will put of video, yes?

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I certainly shall, if I can. It’s six minutes long. We have six whole minutes of choreography. WHAT.

      Like

  2. grannyandpoppy says:

    Did you take Jared to the doughnut shop?  It has been so fun reading about your dance. Now I wish I could be there to see the performance. Have a fun time at home. I know you will. Love Granny

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I did! I didn’t expect him to want to join us, but we had a grand time. =)

      Like

Thoughts?

