Dance Composition Midterm – Solo

My Dance Comp class’s midterm consisted of us having to choreograph and perform a three-minute solo. Here’s mine – I did it better on the day of the midterm, which I suppose is a good thing – I got a little ahead of the music in this one, but couldn’t re-take the video because I had to run off to get to Bible Study…so. Yea. I left a couple rolls out accidentally, which got me a few counts off. Oops. But. You get the idea, anyway, and this is enough to keep me from forgetting it all, in case I ever decide to do anything with it. =) …which would be cool.

The concept I wanted to portray with this is…one that this short piece doesn’t actually live up to. It needs to be a bit longer and a bit better before it will begin doing justice to the subject. Anyhow. I wanted to choreograph a piece on the difference between dance as technique, and dance as…movement that happens because the mover wants to or needs to move, and isn’t worried about the restrictions of technique. It’s a bit difficult to explain, but this difference is something that I struggle with a lot, in dance – how to recognize that dance is not just technique, and that I don’t have to be perfect to be a dancer. I can just move, and that counts, and is beautiful and good – often more so than any technique ever could be. That’s what I tried to bring into this – I don’t know how well I did with it – I know it needs a lot more work, and more length, to do justice to that, because that is a huge subject. But. It’s a start. And maybe sometime I’ll come back to it and add to it. =)

The music is by the Rachel’s, off this CD. I mixed it, though – I took one of their songs that’s five minutes long, cut the first part off, and then took bits and pieces out of the middle and stuck them at the end, and cut other sections out of the middle to make it shorter. So. I kinda played around with it a lot. But I like it. And I think I did a pretty dang good job – you totally can’t tell that I cut it to pieces. It sounds like that’s the way it’s meant to be. Boss music editor for the win. I rock.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. sarahtps says:

    Lovely work! At first I was like “Ok, this looks nice, but I don’t really get it . . .” (Which I say about a lot of dancing, to be honest), but then I really got an idea of what you were trying to say. So good job to you.

    Like

  2. CKG says:

    Was that a “Hercules Holding the Weight of the World” move at 0:56? Awesome! Thanks for the written overview so us dancing-symbology-challenged can keep up. We need MORE dance videos please!!

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Well. Maybe I’ll post a video of my group piece when it’s done – it’s for the same class, but won’t be finished until April, so. You’ll have to wait. And also I’m not dancing in it either. *grins*

      Like

  3. Lulu says:

    Its not called ‘mixing’ what you did was either remixing or editing, but not mixing.

    Yeesh, kids these days.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Is that what it’s called then? Okay. I had no idea what the right word was. Re-mixing, then. ;)

      Like

  4. Lalaithiel says:

    Oh, this is gorgeous!

    Like

Thoughts?

