I need some perspective…

So, as you all can see, I have changed my blog theme. First question: How do you like it? I hope you don’t mind it because I think it’s going to stay this way. there are too many themes and not enough of them do what I want. This one was as close as I could come. Although I’m not a HUGE fan of the grey…oh well. that’s what header images are for, I suppose.

Secondly (and this might be something you are all strongly opposed to?), I want to change my blog title and tagline. There’s nothing wrong with Resolved to Dew. But given the way this blog is being used right now, and the things I am writing about, I think it needs something different. Resolved To Dew/Evaporating into His Light was very much high school Me, if you get my meaning. College Me is different. College Me is growing in lots of ways that high school Me never would have dreamed of. I think I need a new title.

I want this blog to be a space that others find amusement and enjoyment in. But I also want it to be a space that is useful to me. Now, I use it mostly to write about the big things that are happening in my life, and the things I am thinking about and working through. To Grad School or Not To Grad School being an example of the most recent thing. I process best through writing. Writing about these things helps me to think about them objectively, and see all sides of the issue. It’s good for me. I want a blog title that reflects this – that this is a space that reflects my growing, my searching for a new identity in who I am growing into, and my connection to the past and my birth home as well as my reaching out and searching for a spiritual and emotional home (as well as a new physical home – because I won’t be living in the dear old Farmhouse with my parents forever).

So, while the old title is still important and true, in some ways, who I am and what I am doing has changed a lot since high school. So has the content of my blog. I would like a new title that reflects this. I would love to hear any thoughts about this from you all – I tend to over-think these things and get all turned around.

 

Also – here’s another thing. I want to make this blog public. I have a public blog right now – Off The Farm – but I don’t post on it often, and when I do, it’s always stuff I already posted here. The pressure of confining myself to only posting polished writing and “professional” work on Off The Farm makes it no fun to post. and thus I kind of haven’t been. But if I made this space public, I would have to cut down on the fangirling posts…not that I have too many of those anyway. But. Still. I’d have to clean up my act a little bit. And I don’t really want to do that. But I do want to have a public blog – because I love blogging, and I want to stay engaged in it through my life, and would love to enter the public blogging sphere in some manner. I have no aspirations of fame or anything – but I would like to think that maybe sometimes I write about stuff that other people could benefit from reading, even if it’s only because it gives them a laugh. Laughter is very important too, you know. So I’d like to have a public blog that I keep up with.

But this blog seems mostly to be a space of community with you, my readers. Honestly, this is the only way I keep in contact with a vast majority of my readers (all my fellow Potter’s School students, I’m looking at you). And the way it is now, I don’t think this blog should be public, because of that. And I love that. I want to keep that community. I love you guys, and I love that this is a place where we can hang out and be excited together. But also, I want to publish a blog that is personal, but also a bit more mature (in some cases) and intelligent (in others). I know that if I have two blogs, I’ll just end up posting the same things on both of them. Because I also don’t want to use this space ONLY for my fangirling and immature rants and late-nights-with-ice-cream. So I’m not really sure what to do. If any of you have thoughts or comments on this concept, let me know that in the comments as well. I very much would like them.

 

You all are the best. Happy New Year to everyone =)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. sarahtps says:

    -New blog design: I liked the old one better. But this one still looks nice. And, to be honest, I generally read your posts from my WordPress dashboard, so good or bad, the layout won’t bother me.
    -New title/tagline: I get what you mean about wanting a change. I don’t have suggestions for you (I’m not even sure if you’re looking for suggestions), but I’m not opposed to a title change if you think that’s what you need.
    -Public blog: Quite honestly, I think that your content as it is would be fine for a public blog. If you think a particular post is too personal/immature (though “immature” is not a word I’d generally use to describe you), mark it as password-only and give your current readership the password. That’s my thoughts. *shrugs*

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …the main thing I don’t like about this theme is how it handles the comments. =P there’s still time, though. I may change it again yet ;) What about the old theme did you like, or what about this one do you not like, if you don’t mind my asking? I also don’t care for the font it uses for the title – I think once I settle on a new name, I will create a banner that includes the title, and then just remove the title that the theme itself shows, if that makes sense.
      The passwording thing is a good idea…I didn’t think of that. Also I’m flattered that you wouldn’t describe me as immature. ;) Some people *cough* may not agree with you entirely, though…*grins* But I do my best. I just have occasional bouts of ice-cream-sugar-high and exciting things like Tolkien being combined in slightly unfortunate (for my readers) ways…;)
      Thanks for your feedback. =) I appreciate it.

      Like

      1. sarahtps says:

        I just liked the layout of the old one better. It looked, I don’t know, more interesting. And I don’t like the top of this one- the grey, the font, the way the header is set.
        Glad I could be of help! :)

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Okay. Thanks =) Yea, I liked having a sidebar rather than everything down at the bottom. If I keep this theme, though, I’ll get rid of the title, because that font annoys me too ;) Thanks!

          Like

Thoughts?

