The Hobbit

We went to see Battle of Five Armies tonight. I’m not going to rant about it right now, because I am too busy freaking. out. and being far too happy about everything. When the glow of ecstasy fades, I’m sure I’ll be plenty mad about stuff. but for right now…I just got two things to say.

First, Galadriel, man. Galadriel.

Second…OW MY FEELS HURT.

Also when I post my rant (because im sure it will happen), don’t read it until you see the movie. Because there will be spoilers.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. ….wait……you……LIKED it????

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Of course I did. How can anyone dislike something that’s Tolkien-inspired? I liked the other two alright too…but they weren’t as good as this one. And this one may not actually be good either. I need to see it a second time to have a lucid opinion on it. First go-round, I’m too dang excited to even CARE. Did you see it? Go see it.

      Like

      1. Question: is it worth paying 14.50 Euros to go see it in English? :)

        Like

      2. I really don’t want to see the dubbed version. :)

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Eew, don’t see the dubbed version. I mean, German is great and all that (and it would actually be pretty fitting to see Middle-earth in German) but…go with English.

          Like

  2. sarahtps says:

    I’m seeing it on Tuesday with a bunch of TPSers. SO EXCITED. :D I’m glad you think it’s good- if you think so, I’m sure it will be.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Okay. Me thinking it is good does not mean it actually is good. I think it’s probably just as lousy as the other two – but like I said, the first time I see it, I’m too excited to even care. It’s probably not so great. I have problems with it. I’ll post about them eventually. As The Hobbit, it’s not good. as a standalone movie it’s even worse. as the third movie in a non-book-related trilogy it’s kind of okay ish I guess. …but I’m too happy about everything to really care ALL that much. =D

      Like

      1. sarahtps says:

        Ahhhh. Thank you for clearing that up. (And I completely understand about the “too happy to care” bit.)

        Like

    2. Bessie Lark says:

      AND I’M GOING TO MEET YOU and we will be happy and cry together.

      Like

      1. sarahtps says:

        YES and it will be AWESOME.

        Like

      2. AnnaEstelle says:

        *jealousy* ;) take pictures.

        Like

  3. *sighs* Tuesday is the earliest I’ll be seeing it, and I can’t wait for it because TPSers are not going to be able to shut up about it on the forums. >.<

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hah. So true. Good luck with that. ;)

      Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I can like the movie without betraying my “honor.” The purist in me was cringing at many points. However, I can also set the purist in me aside and just enjoy the dang thing. I found this movie to be ever so much better than the second one, and rather better than the first, too. It had problems. Many of them. Not least of which being the fact that they sped through the burning of Laketown and the death of the dragon in a very few minutes and then spent the rest of the film in one long, drawn-out battle. But they introduced less things that weren’t in the book or that didn’t happen at that point in Middle-earth history. And they had less scenes that consisted of sheer ridiculousness for the sake of humor. And I liked a lot of the ways they tried to open connections between it and the Lord of the Rings (even if some of them were unsuccessful). Despite the fact that I don’t agree with Elf-Dwarf romance for maaaaany reasons which I won’t go into, I was glad they left Tauriel with Kili, ultimately, instead of with Legolas – it got Legolas headed in the right direction, formed some slight form of reconciliation between Tauriel and Thranduil (which I am glad about for Thranduil’s sake), and *cough* put Tauriel in enough pain to make me feel better about her. ;) I liked how she stayed with Bard’s children dring the burning of Laketown. And I like how her influence got Legolas thinking about Middle-earth as a whole, rather than his own personal borders and nothing more. Of course, it would have been better if Tauriel had just been killed off, but they couldn’t really get away with doing that too, what with all the other deaths happening. Tauriel dying would have detracted from Thorin/Kili/Fili’s deaths. Thorin’s las moments with Bilbo were masterfully done. I loved the way they portrayed the dragon-sickness, and was very pleased with how they showed Thorin falling under its influence. The scene in Dol Guldur exceeded any expectation I could have had, and getting to see Galadriel, Elrond, and Saruman “kick ghost butt” (in the words of my bro) was amazing. Even though Saruman isn’t really a good fellow at that point, it’s still great to see him in action – in LotR we just get shots of his creepy hands over the Palantir, and him pacing his balcony. It was awesome to see him really fight. Also Elrond’s armor, man. Seeing him in serious battle mode, rather than butterfly-hair-clips-and-long-velvety-robes was wonderful. It was also wonderful to see Galadriel exert her true power – though I didn’t like how they made it appear as though her power was something dark or bad by making her turn all weird-looking like she does in LotR when she talks about what would happen if she took the Ring. But I can overlook that in favor of dang-Galadriel-is-a-boss. And I could go on, but I won’t.
      So. Yes. I did enjoy the movie. And I can’t wait to see it again. And that doesn’t make me less of a Tolkien scholar, or less of a person, or lose my “honor.” It’s possible to love Tolkien’s work and everything he did and also love the films that are an attempt at extending that world. The films fall short. Of course they do. But that doesn’t make them less valuable, from a myth-building standpoint.

      All that to say, I’m sorry if you feel as though I have lost my honor. But I don’t actually care. =)

      Like

Thoughts?

