Break? …Bleh.

So breaks are good things, right? Well this is the first time in my life I’ve not looked forward to one.

This coming weekend is Fall Break, and I’m not exactly excited for it. My favorite Roomie is going home, which is very quite awesome for her, but it means I’ll be alone for several days. (In Which Anna Has A Moment Of Selfishness: dun leave meeeeeeee Didi…*tears*) And then Saturday is the End Of All Dance (last performance of the Art Prize piece, which maybe someday I’ll actually have the time and the energy to tell you all about). Last performances are always sad. Because you’ve put so much time and energy and sweat and tears into the thing, and then all in one fell swoop it’s done for good. I’m not sure if this time around it will be easier or harder, though. Easier because we’ve only worked on this piece for a handful of weeks, I haven’t spent as much time with it, and its end means I’ll have six whole more hours for homework every week than I have so far. Harder because I’ll not be dancing any more afterwards this semester, except Sacred, which is not the same at all.

By the way, Family Dear – I wish you could have come out to see this dance thang. Luke, you would really like it. There’s cool things and people sticking their tongues out and walking down the banister and jumping on streetlights. Emily, you would appreciate the all the cool symbolism and love the Cathedral Square where we perform (and probably think the poetry prof is cute). Daddy, you would like the music – one of the guys has a mandolin, and the other guy has a big upright bass, only it’s like weirdly electric so it’s literally just like a finger board and the strings attached to a stand so it’s portable and space-age-looking…travel-sized bass. Mommy, I think you would really like the dancing too, even though it’s sort of weird, and you could have gotten all sorts of knitting done during the rehearsals…maybe it would’ve inspire a new sweater pattern. o_o Dang.

Yep. So. Art Prize is cool. It’s going to be over way too soon. It’s made me really, really, really, really miss my old studio back home (I definitely spent a lot of time last night watching old videos from Stowe Dance Academy’s performances…and it was really sad). And now break is coming WHICH IS NOT OKAY.

Alright. I’m done. Back to homework and making food. Both very important things.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love cute poetry professors.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Oh, I know you do. ;)

      Like

  2. grannyandpoppy says:

    Anna, How long does Fall break last? We tried to SKYPE you last Sat. night. I guess you were out dancing with some cute guy! Not too much going on around here, altho I’m really busy. I had my nsg.school class reunion last Friday. One of my friends and her husband stayed with me. Another friend who could not come over the weekend is stopping by tomorrow on her way home to VA . Poppy is working on a cute Halloween style gourd. Next step is getting some orange dye to finish it. I’m still working on quilts. love Granny

    ________________________________

    Like

Thoughts?

