In which I turn over a new leaf…

…and become suddenly incredibly crafty.

What. This never happens.

Seriously, Emily is the creative one in our family, when it comes to making things by hand. Not me. I don’t have the patience, and I am, sadly, a perfectionist who is very good at doing things not-quite-right. Which means when I try and be crafty, I usually end up ripping more things out than leaving them in and moving on with life…ha.

However, I think the thought of my (incredibly imminent) return to school has brought out a new side of myself that I’ve definitely never met in such a consolidated way before. Every now and then I’ll get the urge to make something with my hands, and I’ll do it…but this often? Gosh no. I’ve been making things for the past week, working on them every day. Several things. I have…approximately five different creative projects all going on at once right now? It was six, but I finished one a couple days ago. And there’s another one planned that I haven’t started yet but want to do before I leave. Golly.

Sheesh, Anna. Get a job. A different job. LIKE ONE THAT MAKES YOU MONEY.

Nah, that would be way too mainstream…

 

Anyhow. What are these projects I am working on? Ah. There’s the rub. I’m not telling. *beams* You’re welcome.

No, but seriously, I’m not. Some of them are going to be gifts for certain people, and these certain people may or may not read this blog (honestly I’m not actually sure o_O) and I don’t want them to find out ahead of time, so mum’s the word. =)

I can tell you, however, that there’s been a lot of embroidery happening (I know, I know. I have never in my life embroidered anything before. What). There has also been lots of ripping-out of embroidery happening too…heh. And felting. Much felting. One of these projects I’m working on (it’s for me, so I can tell) is an Adventure Bag.

It’s pretty dang spiffy, if I say so myself.

It’s a lovely bag, big enough to hold several books and maybe even a camera (all the most important things for going adventuring), made of pretty glowing brown Llama/wool felt and lined with a piece of blue and green silk. Sweet. And there’s pockets inside. Yea, I totally outdid myself there. AND. Get this. This is the best part.

It’s got a dragon. =)

His name is Chrysophylax Dives. Yes, after Tolkien’s dragon in Farmer Giles. Because he is, in fact, Tolkien’s dragon. Yes folks, I managed (quite successfully, actually) so embroider this fellow onto my bag:

I’m so proud of myself. You have no idea.

anyhow. the other things I’m working on involve needle felting, and trees, and poetry. And more dragons. And natural dying. And more embroidery, and beads. The beads are the worst. I stink at beading. I’ve ripped them out a few times now and decided to wait on finishing that until I’m in a more patient mood. Ha.

Speaking of natural dying, Mommy and I have been experimenting with ecoprinting. SO MUCH FUN. It’s like Christmas in august. You wrap the silk up with a bunch of dead leaves and flowers and bark and stuff, and you steam it in a giant pot, and you wait for a whole day before you touch it…then you unwrap it and pitch all the vegetable matter and you have a gorgeously dyed piece of material and it’s like OPENING PRESENTS. THAT YOU MADE FOR YOURSELF. Yea.

Only sometimes the stuff you used doesn’t actually dye and you’re just left with a bunch of boiled plants and a kinda gross, very faint greenish color on your fabric. Meh.

But purple hollyhocks make the. best. color. ever.

End of story.

 

…Like I said. I’m not entirely sure why all the sudden I’ve gotten an unquenchable urge to create with my hands. But it’s been amusing.

However, now it is starting to stress me out because I have so many half-finished things I need to get done and want to get done before I go back to school. In like twelve days.

Yea.

Twelve days.

What the heck happened to summer.

35 Comments Add yours

  1. Dude you leave in 12 days??? Crazy. Also, I want to see pictures asap.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      IKR??!!?? wut. I’ll send you pictures when I finish things…they’re all like, half-done right now XD Haha. I might post Adventure Bag pictures on here, because IT ROCKS. But otherwise, I’ll send you pictures because SPOILERS. =)
      You would be so proud of me, though. It’s like I inherited your crafty-ness. Only not really, because if you were the one doing all this, you’d be done with them by now and you’d have done a much better job too XD But hey. IT’S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS! Right? ;)

      Also. I MISS YOU. GEEZ WHY’D YOU HAVE TO GO AND MOVE TO GERMANY. THIS IS NOT OKAY.
      ok i’m done now.

      Like

  2. sarahtps says:

    I want to know where you got the pattern for this Adventure Bag. It sounds awesome, and I might need to look into making one. All your crafts sound awesome! (Also, you’re braver than I am- I don’t think I would ever try embroidery.)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Uhm…pattern…? what’s a pattern? =P I couldn’t find one I liked, so I made it up? XD I can post my sketches of it for you, if you like…and if I can find them. ;) But yea, I kind of just completely winged it and made it up as I went. It turned out pretty well, too, I think. *peers inside* I can def fit at least three big fat Tolkien books in it at once, anyway…;)

      Like

      1. sarahtps says:

        Ah, all right then. :) I assumed that you had a pattern since you said you don’t usually do crafty stuff. I’d love to see your sketches, though, if it’s not too much trouble. As I said, I’d like to try making one. (Especially if you can fit three books in at once- I could use something like that.)

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Haha, okay. I’ll see if I can find them. They may be lost, by now. If so, I can easily re-do them. ;) I’ll see if I can get something drawn and will post it for you =)

          Like

          1. sarahtps says:

            Thank you very much! I look forward to seeing them!

            Like

  3. grannyandpoppy says:

    I’m so excited to hear your creative side is showing up!  I’ve been waiting for it to come forth and show it’s self!  What fun! See what happens when you have time or make it a priority?

    Your Granny (happily sitting in the basement painting gourds)

    ________________________________

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Granny, this is the best comment ever. I can totally envision you sitting in your basement painting gourds – it sounds lovely. ;) You’ll have to show them to me when Mommy and I come down!

      Like

  4. Lulu says:

    HEY PEOPLE. I KNOW WHAT SHE’S MAKING
    HIT ME UP @ lcgoodlingsoxfan@gmail.com AND I’LL TELL YOU, SEND ME PAYPAL FOR REMBURSMENT

    KTHXBAi

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I love you.
      but no you don’t. ;)

      Like

  5. Bessie Lark says:

    I nominated you for the Scribbler Award, jsyk. =)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Thank you, my dear! I’m flattered. I appreciate it very much. However, I’m also not going to re-post it and stuff. Because one, I dun follow many blogs anyway, and two…I’m basically too lazy…*cough*
      =P
      I love you =D

      Like

      1. Bessie Lark says:

        Love you too. And Chryssie up there is cool. =D

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          What. No. NO CHRYSSIE. Chrysophylax. Chrysophylax Dives. AND THAT IS ALL!
          Sorry. He;s very particular. =)

          Like

          1. Bessie Lark says:

            But-but-but…*lower lip trembles* *eyes fill*

            Like

              1. Bessie Lark says:

                *whipped-puppy eyes* *silently holds out mithril treasures to the dragon*

                Like

                1. AnnaEstelle says:

                  *Chrysophylax glares disdainfully at mithril, then grabs it and runs*

                  Like

                2. Bessie Lark says:

                  Good, I can call him Chryssie now.

                  Like

                3. AnnaEstelle says:

                  *”Chryssie” blasts you out of his cave with his FIERY BREATH OF DEATH*

                  Like

                4. Bessie Lark says:

                  Look, if he could run away from me after taking the mithril, how were we in his cave to begin with? Is it that big?

                  Like

                5. AnnaEstelle says:

                  Um, yes. You underestimate Chrysophylax.

                  Like

                6. Bessie Lark says:

                  ‘Kay, so now I’m blasted out and away. *warps to another dimension* *whispers* chryssie.

                  Like

                7. AnnaEstelle says:

                  …I’m also pretty sure you’re suffering from severe third-degree burns…

                  Like

                8. Bessie Lark says:

                  *goes to hospital somewhere in the universe that can fix it* *fixed* chryssie.

                  Like

                9. AnnaEstelle says:

                  *”Chryssie” hunts you down, eats you, and flies back to his cavern with a full stomach and happy thoughts, goes to sleep, and has lovely dreams about flowers and butterflies and mithril*

                  Like

                10. Bessie Lark says:

                  I didn’t know Chryssie had a TARDIS.

                  Like

                11. AnnaEstelle says:

                  You don’t know anything.
                  Because you’re dead.
                  And currently being digested.
                  hmph.
                  -_-

                  Like

                12. Bessie Lark says:

                  But before that. Because that hospital was outside Chryssie’s dimension, let alone his universe. One does not simply fly unprotected through the Void or whatever’s between dimensions that’s keeping Rose and Ten apart.

                  Like

                13. AnnaEstelle says:

                  One also does not simply acquire a TARDIS and use it to fly to a hospital.

                  Like

                14. Bessie Lark says:

                  Didn’t use a TARDIS, used a vortex manipulator.

                  Like

                15. AnnaEstelle says:

                  So did Chrysophylax.

                  Like

  6. mariertps says:

    It is like the Beowulf dragon *dreamy eyes*

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Sort of, yes. Isn’t he a dear?

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

