This is a post about food.

Specifically real food.

Like not cafeteria food.

Gosh, guys, it’s just so good.

 

First, background. Something I don’t believe I have posted about yet. You may correct me if I’m wrong. I’m going to be co-leading a small-group  bible study next semester, with Becca.

Yea, bet that took you by surprise, didn’t it? Ha.

Anyway. The new bible study leaders all congregated today in the Haworth (big conference center/superfancyandexpensive hotel on the corner of campus), for a brunch and a question-answer/prayer time thing.

And there was food. I mean, given the fact that I already told you it was a brunch, you could probably have guessed that. But this food was awesome. It was like, real. Like, actually real food that didn’t come out of a box or a can.

My gosh. I forgot how good that can be.

…But first, there were bagels at church this morning and I stole some and they are yummy and epic (though not nearly quite so epic as the bagels we had yesterday at our Sacred Dance breakfast. Those are unbeatable. And I have no idea where they came from, and I need to find this out so I can stake out the joint and run away with all their bagels when no one is looking). So yea. Bagels. At church.

Then the brunch at the Haworth. So much good food. Like…so much good food.

We had fruit and orange juice and this really awesome crustless quiche, made with actually real eggs and tons of actually real spinach and actually real and actually ripe tomatoes. And real bacon. Which, I must say, didn’t even come close to being half as good as the bacon my dear Brother the Swineherd raises. But. Take what you can get. And scalloped potatoes that weren’t so overcooked they turned into some weird unappetizing concoction held together only by ten pounds of cheese. What.

So good.

I actually died a little bit inside, and that part of me is now residing happily in food-heaven. Yep.

Real food. GLORY BE, IT STILL EXISTS!!!

 

And now I’m just sitting down in the basement of Gilmore, by myself, contentedly eating  brie cheese melted onto mini ciabatta bread things made in a toaster oven. Because why not. I was there, the brie was there, the toaster oven was there. Another little piece of heaven.

Goodness.

I realize, however, that this means whatever Phelps is serving for dinner tonight is going to look doubly unappetizing. Ah well. Such is life.

Maybe there will just be lots of ice cream.

That would be okay with me.

I need ice cream.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Lulu says:

    We are eating pizza from the pizza oven tonight.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …I mean. I love you. BUT I HATE YOU.

      Like

  2. CKG says:

    I think there is an old testament warning against stealing bagels from church. You better look into this…..

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hahaha. We were invited to steal them, though…
      So I guess it was more like borrowing.
      Only I’m not going to give them back…hmm…

      Like

    2. Lulu says:

      Awkward dad comment.

      Like

  3. Dragonslayer says:

    . . . wait. But, in order to like co-lead a Bible study, don’t you have to like, talk? Y’know–to other people?

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Yes. That would be correct. Congratulations. Your brain seems to be working just fine today.

      Like

      1. Dragonslayer says:

        Activating your sarcastic self-defense mechanism, is we?

        Like

Thoughts?

