Drum Roll, Please.

I am now the proud owner of the Canon EOS 60D.

WHAT.

Yea. That’s right. The 60D is mine.

He came in the mail today. I waited until this afternoon to try him out…gosh was it hard, let me tell you, but…I couldn’t exactly help it. the battery had to charge before I could do anything with him.

I had the amazing foresight (I’m still impressed with myself for this) to order an SD card with him when I bought the body. My Rebel is a super old one, as I’ve said many times, and takes a really strange large memory card. The 60D gets a normal-sized one.

I went on a long (like…two hours long =P) walk this afternoon with my new possession. I hardly took any pictures – one, because it’s still not very nice-looking here – nothing is really blooming yet and everything is grey and dirty. And two, because let’s be honest – I was really enjoying just the feeling of carrying this sucker around. Goshhh. It’s bigger and heavier than a Rebel – Rebels are entry-level camera bodies, and the 60D is sort of between that and one of the several-thousand-dollar pro-level cameras. So it’s bigger, heavier, and fancier. and it feels SO good to hold! You have no idea until you’ve tried it. It actually fits my hand comfortably, and the extra weight makes it feel so much more sturdy and steady when I use it. So. Epic.

I did find a lovely patch of white and purple crocuses, though (I think that’s what type of flower these are. I’m not exactly a botanist. Correct me if I’m wrong). So I took some pictures of them. And oh my gracious me I don’t know what to do with myself THEY LOOK SO GOOD. also my review screen is now BIGGER THEN A POSTAGE STAMP so I could actually enjoy the epicness of my photos in-camera without being all like…*squints*

Shoot. I’m so happy right now.

The camera is easy to use – it’s not that similar to my Rebel, but the differences aren’t confusing. It’s just going to take me a little while to get used to having so many more menus than I’m used to =P OPTIONZ! SO MANY! AHHH! GOOD THINGS!!!

Here’s a sample of my lovely crocus pictures. I may or may not have done a happy dance after taking them.

Also this camera has the option to live-view the picture you’re taking on the display screen – meaning I don’t have to look through the viewfinder, I can just look at the screen to take the picture like you would with a normal point-and-shoot camera. Which is weird. I haven’t tried it out yet. Somehow I feel like it’s cheating. Which I mean, it’s not…but…it just doesn’t seem right to me somehow…But I’m sure I’ll get over that eventually at some point maybe. But I like the viewfinder…I feel so much more legit that way. Ha. Yea.

Guys…I don’t know what to do with myself. I’m so happy. I can’t. I need to celebrate now.

Also I am taking name suggestions for my new camera. He needs a name. Ideas. Pass ’em my way.

Well. Happy early birthday, me. I don’t believe in buying yourself birthday presents, usually…but I gotta say, if you’re gonna do it, you gotta do it right. Getting a 60D is DEFINITELY doing it right.

…it’s also doing it really expensively…but hey. Vermont Life paid for this one. So technically THEY got me an early birthday gift. Ha. Sweet.

spring crocus

 

It’s spring, guys. At least in Holland, Michigan, it is.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Lulu says:

    Now let me just get you a *cough* unconventional version of the Adobe Photoshop CS6 Extended Addition and you’ll be kicking butt more than you already are.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      *raises hand* I’m totally up for this. Just as long as you’re the one who gets arrested. Not me.
      ;)

      Like

  2. mariertps says:

    Tis be-yew-ti-ful. <3 And yesss it is spring here! Dogwoods and daffodils and lily-of-the-valleys and uuuugh so pretty. No name ideas, yet.

    Like

  3. CKG says:

    Just don’t name it……”My Precious”…….you know? That usually does not turn out well. Just saying……..

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Daddy, this has got to be the best comment yet. I approve. Also, no worries. I won’t name it Precious. ;) Hehehe =D

      Like

  4. Jacob Cullum says:

    *grins* Awesome. The 60D is a cool camera. And you should try using the live view feature–it works great for finer focusing.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hmm. Ok. I’ll have to try it out. ;)

      Like

  5. sarahtps says:

    Awesome! I almost never use the Live View screen on my 50D, but like Jacob said, it is really nice if you want to make sure you’re focusing just right. Glad you’re liking your new camera!

    On the name idea subject, I’m still working on it, but the name should have something to do with light.

    Like

  6. You need to post more pictures asap.

    Like

Thoughts?

