Set Me Free

It hasn’t always been this way. I remember brighter days,
before the dark ones came, stole my mind, wrapped my soul in chains.
Now I live among the dead, fighting voices in my head,
hoping someone hears me crying in the night, and carries me away…

My first attempts at choreography, with quite a bit of improv thrown in. Danced in the beautiful Mauck Solarium at Hillsdale College. Many thanks to Emily for making me do this, and for filming it. <3

20 Comments Add yours

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      You get most of the credit, for making me actually do it.
      You also get all of the blame, for the fact that I’m going to be sore tomorrow. ;)

      Like

  1. Lulu says:

    You rock.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …I’m sorry, but you don’t get any of the credit at all…
      But neither do you get blame, so you’re good.

      Like

      1. Lulu says:

        y so mean? i waz being nice

        Like

  2. sarahtps says:

    Not exactly the kind of dance I usually picture you doing, but cool all the same. I liked the part at “Who is this man who comes my way”, and the bit at the very end best.

    Like

  3. juliel1tps says:

    Whoa, that was amazing, Addy!

    Like

      1. Lulu says:

        o_O Her name is Anna

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Yea, and your name is definitely Lulu.

          Like

      2. juliel1tps says:

        Yes. Addy. Short for Adlanniel (Ahd-lahn-nee-ell) which means “Ascender,” or it’s supposed to anyway =P

        Like

        1. Jacob Cullum says:

          *raises eyebrow* And how is the name Adlanniel connected with Anna? =P

          Like

          1. juliel1tps says:

            Elvish. It’s Elvish. And it starts with A.

            Like

  4. Ms. Helena Sullivan would be proud of that one!!!! Whoot!

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I dunno about that – Helena doesn’t strike me as a very Sacred-Dance-y type person. If I just called it Lyrical, she might go for it…though I’m not sure how she would feel about the song. ;) Man, I miss Helena. This spring we have to go to SDA’s show. If only so I can maybe see her again. =P They’re doing The Sound of Music…it sounds epic.

      Like

  5. Lalaithiel says:

    Wow. That was intense. I agree with Sarah, this isn’t the type of dance I usually picture you doing, but it was beautiful anyway! I really love the ending, how your arms suddenly go soft and graceful after being abrupt and choppy. So are you saying this is the first piece you’ve choreographed by yourself? *applauds and hands you ice cream*

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      yea – this is the first time I have tried choreographing something on my own. I’ve helped choreograph a couple things before, but not much. =)

      Like

  6. SarahB7tps says:

    So I’ve been stalker-ish for a very long time, but this time I just gotta say it:

    Anna. This. Is. Amazing. love love love the ending

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …and another stalker comes out of the closet…
      =P
      I totally know who you are. I think. *grins* Ahh, TPS’s lots-of-names-with-no-faces is confusing. XD
      thank you. =) I’m glad you like it.

      Like

Thoughts?

