Cases are evil, I tell you. EVIL!

I’m working on Old English homework. Not a bit of it is making any sense at all, and I doubt I’m retaining any of it since I can’t see the logic behind what I’m supposed to be learning (WHY are ð/þ voiced when they are between some letter combinations and not others? I have no clue! Picking out words in which they are voiced from a list teaches me nothing unless I know WHY the ones I randomly pick are right or not! Geez).

I just did an exercise in which I was given a sentence in modern English with one word or phrase highlighted, and I had to say what case it would be in if it were Old English. You know, Nominative, Genitive, Dative, Accusative stuff. Goin’ waaaaaay back to my Latin days…*shudders at the memories* Good old Mr. Spotts. (speaking of Mr. Spotts, I wonder how Cap’n Salty is…) (all you TPSers who read my blog, if you ever happen across Mr. Spotts [a Latin/Greek/Classics-y-stuff teacher], tell him Anna Goodling says hello) (I’m getting sidetracked. …I’m distracting myself from procrastinating…I am distracting myself from distracting myself…oo, this is fun.)

Anyhow. Exercise. About case. In modern English. I did it.

I kind of got 14 our of 27 questions right. And it wasn’t even in Old English! That’s what, 52%? I think I need to re-learn modern English grammar before I try and learn Old English grammar…

(In the sentence “The king had mercy on you,” why the heck is “you” Genitive?? I thought that was for possessives, not objects of prepositions! Seriously? MY GRAMMATICAL LIFE IS A LIE!)

*glowers* let’s just read things out loud and forget being grammatically correct. Hmph.

 

Life would be easy without case. Case is the bane of my existence. Let’s abolish case. From now on, THERE IS NO CASE! -_- EVER AGAIN!

 

Also the fact that my muscles don’t work right now is only making me more cantankerous. Yay for too-much-dance following too hard and fast on no-dance-at-all-for-three-weeks. Someone come give me a massage. I’ll pay you in…the torn and bloody remains of Case. Which I am in the process of slaying. As we speak. (As I type?)

EVIL.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Lulu says:

    THIS IS EXACTLY HOW I FEEL WHEN I TRY AND DO GERMAN.

    I’M LIKE WUT THE HECK IS THIS STUFF?

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Same, bro. Same. I feel your pain. XD

      Like

  2. Bessie Lark says:

    Okay, case is gone. Me can now speak however me like and the only thing that will sound normal is when me talk to you because -you- is the same in all cases. Everyone should see that his or her needs case to talk like an educated person. =DDD

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Well me understood you perfectly. See, our don’t need case at all.

      Like

      1. Bessie Lark says:

        But yours sound almost like Gollum-speak sometimes, and us don’t want to sound like he, do ours, preciousss?

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Oh yes we could! spoiling nice fish. give it t us rrrrraw, and wrrrrriggling.

          Like

          1. Bessie Lark says:

            *sigh* See, even Gollum uses proper case. (His subject/verb agreement is a different story altogether, though….) I think that the majority of people want to sound better than Gollum, so that’s probably why it’s an established thing. =)

            Like

            1. Bessie Lark says:

              P.S. Even though it’s an established thing, you should still respect it. ;)

              Like

  3. Lalaithiel says:

    This is why I’ll stick to Chinese. It makes way more sense then English *coughasidefromthefactthattheydecidedtohavea3,000characteralphabetcough*

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      yea i like having essentially the same alphabet thanks. o_O

      Like

  4. Bessie Lark says:

    …The password on your newest post isn’t working. =(

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      that’s because it’s a different password. ;) it’s just some random stuff for my own reference – you aren’t missing anything, dun worry. ;)

      Like

Thoughts?

