Non-linear, non-subjective…and roommates.

This is making me happy. It’s…wibbly-wobbly. <3

 

Also. Housing and roommates for next year. I DUN KNOW WHAT TO DO. Help me.

Last semester I sorta-kinda-not-really talked with a few girls I dance with about possibly living with them. Sorta-kinda-not-really. I was planning to apply for being an RA in a cottage, and I told them if I got it, they could live with me. But then I didn’t apply after all. Idk if they are counting on living with me or not.

Then two days ago my roomie and one of her friends said they wanted to get an apartment and wanted me to live with them. I didn’t say yes, since I didn’t know how it all was left with the dance people, but I said I would def be interested as long as dance people don’t think I am living with them.

Then yesterday Becca (girl from Tolkien Lit, Doctor Who fan, fellow nerd, awesome) stopped by my room to say hello and we ended up talking for like an hour and a half and then going to dinner together, and she said she has no one to live with next year and I was like…I don’t wither…I have several options but I haven’t told anyone yes yet…and inside I was like YES YES YES PLEASE I WANT TO LIVE WITH YOU YOU’RE AMAZING AND I LIKE YOU A LOT! She said she would be up for living together (she currently doesn’t have a roommate because of things happening). Idk where – we’d prolly get an apartment, in which case I think we’d need two more people? idk. Anyway.

So now I don’t know what to do. As much as I love dance people and wouldn’t mind living with them, I see them like…literally every day of the week anyway XD And as much as I like my current roomie and her friend, and realllllllly appreciate the offer to live with them…I would love to live with Becca because she is very interesting and nice, and I would love to get to know her better, and we have really similar interests and things (minus the dance stuff on my part), and she has no one to live with, and she’s very cool (and for some reason she thinks I am awesome, which I still can’t quite fathom). She is also a bit intimidating, though, because she’s very outgoing and talkative and brilliant and I’m like…not any of those things (except brilliant. I’m totally brilliant. *egotistical nod* …but not as brilliant as her).

So. I dun know what to do.

Because I stink at saying no to people, and I would feel bad telling dance people I’m not living with them if they were counting on it, and I would feel bad ditching my roommate, and I would feel bad leaving Becca to shift for herself, and I would really like to live with her but we would still need more people anyway, and I would feel bad ditching my roommate, and I would feel bad ditching dance people, and…

Someone tell me what to do.

Gracious. I think college needs to teach a class on telling people sorry, but no. -_-

HELP. MAKE MY LIFE CHOICES FOR ME.

40 Comments Add yours

  1. Go with Becca. Having an extrovert around is super handy if you are shy. She can get you to do things AND do all the talking. :)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      And she can introduce me to boys.
      =# did I say that out loud? *grins*
      …but I think many of her male friends are in the Geek Club, and thus are…eh…well…unique. =P

      Like

      1. Bessie Lark says:

        *coughyoushouldfindtheguywhodebatedeagleswithyoucough*

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          LOL!!! My goodness, I completely forgot about that. I don’t even remember his name now XD haha. You have a good memory. XD

          Like

          1. Bessie Lark says:

            Ask that friend who was with you…Jordan, was it? *grins* I have a good memory for some things….

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              my goodness, you ARE good. Yes, it was Jordan. o_O you scary. =P

              Like

              1. Bessie Lark says:

                WOO! *fistpump* No kidding, I’m even scaring myself here… =DDD

                Like

      2. joctavianr says:

        Okay, if you’re looking at nerdy guys, some advice: First off, seperate the nerds who actually know stuff from the nerds who just wear dorky clothes and act like homeschoolers. Narrow the pool down to the first section. Second: identify all the fanfiction and bad science fiction obsessed nerds from the others. Ignore this group. Or kill them. Third: identify the computer tech geeks, the engineering geeks, and the literary geeks. these are probably the three main pools with viable options. Now, while there is a lot of good to be said of the computer tech geeks, I would advise you not to look too much in that group. They are usually a lot keener on exact science and logic than on anything remotely pertaining to human interaction or emotion. Don’t think I could see you happy with one. So, now, you have the engineering geeks and the literary geeks. If you want to live in a cardboard box but have someone to talk to about your interests and loves in literature, go for a literary geek. If you want to live comfortably, go with the engineering geeks. If you choose the literary geeks, first find out if any fanfiction or bad science fiction nerds somehow found their way into this group. Kill them. Then break the literary geeks into sections based on philosophies and go with someone who is conservative but open minded. A liberal person would corrupt you. A hardnosed conservative would drive you nuts. (Really, there is nothing worse than a conservative who will not look at both sides of an issue). If you go with the engineering geeks, break them into two sections: those who are engineers because they’re smart and those who are engineers because they think that will make them smart. Go with the first group. Now, find the smart people who are smart socially and in work stuff. These are your options.
        Hope this helped. =p

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          …wow. ‘k then. ..but who ever said I was looking at nerdy guys? o_O

          Like

        2. Justin, your lengthy reply was quite amusing…but it was flawed. The fanfic/bad sci-fi crowd are the true geeks, as are some of the engineers that think they can get smart but are not already. The rest are nerds ;) There is a difference. I have found that in today’s lingo, “nerd” typically refers to someone who is very intelligent and obsessive about an area of academia, typically math, science, history, computers, or literature. They also tend to be socially awkward, but this is not a given. “Geeks” on the other hand are almost always socially awkward and are obsessed with an area outside of mainstream academia, most often in sci-fi, fantasy, and gaming. They may or may not be intelligent, but they often do not excel in most of their classes.

          Like

          1. AnnaEstelle says:

            Everybody acknowledge the brilliance of the Evil-Genius-Mastermind-Hero-Villain. Because she’s totally right.

            Like

          2. Bessie Lark says:

            O_O According to the Evil-Genius-Mastermind-Hero-Villain’s definition, I’m both. Is that possible?

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              Yes it is. XD
              the problem I have with the terms nerd and geek, though, are that none of them *really* apply to me. They are both too math-y or science-y or gaming-y. “Nerd” is too much science and “geek” is too much gaming. I can’t be a Tolkien Nerd or a Tolkien Geek. I need one that is purely literary.
              So I just go with Tolkien Scholar and call it good. *dusts jacket* *egotistical grin*

              Like

            2. Well, do you like school? And do you do well in school? Nerds love school and do really well in school, or at least in most subjects. Geeks on the other hand often have poor work ethic, especially when it comes to school, because all the want to do all day is play video games and read comics, watch anime, and play trading-card games.

              Like

              1. Bessie Lark says:

                So far in high school I’m carrying a straight A average, so yes. =) And I do like school (I don’t always care for all the homework, but the material itself is interesting), but I do procrastinate to read fanfiction and stuff. And then of course I’ve written fanfic for two or three fandoms and am in several, which is why I must at least have a geek side… *shrugs* :)

                Like

          3. joctavianr says:

            Ah, I was dimly aware that there was some difference. But I did not remember which was which. Thank you.

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              Lol. I like school and generally do well in it, and I def don’t want to sit around playing video games and reading comics all day (though I do like some Anime…) So that makes me more a nerd than a geek. …but nerd just sounds so…science-y. -_- me no like science much. It’s fascinating. But it’s evil.

              Like

              1. joctavianr says:

                Haha. You’re a literary nerd, Anna, Although nerd just doesn’t sound literary at all. We should come up with a third word to separate the English people from the tech people.

                Like

                1. AnnaEstelle says:

                  THAT’S WHAT I’VE BEEN TRYING TO SAY! -_-

                  Like

      3. Bessie Lark says:

        Wow. Nice, Justin.

        Like

      4. joctavianr says:

        Lol. The post was in jest obviously. But you said “And she can introduce me to boys.
        …but I think many of her male friends are in the Geek Club”

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          I know it was. And my post about being introduced to boys was also in jest. Also, the guys in the Geek Club are, as I said…unique. For lack of a better word. At least the ones I have seen are. They are the RPG-playing, Nerf-fighting, computer-game-obsessed guys who play Quidditch in the Pine Grove and have purple and blue Kool-Aid-dyed mohawks.
          Unique. Not literary, or engineer-ish, and not so much computer-TECH-y as computer-GAME-obsessed-y. Or so I have observed in my stalking. I get emails from the Geek Club. I’m sure some of them are scholarly literary nerds, like me. Maybe. Actually I’m not so sure, but there’s a chance.

          Like

          1. joctavianr says:

            Ah. Yeah, I should have mentioned that group along with the fanfiction and bad sci-fi bunch. I’m jsut not as familiar with them, so didn’t think of it. But, yes, avoid that group as well. Guess you’re sunk =/ Go with Nicole =p

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              Hahaha. Well, she’s also a History major and a Literature major, so I’m sure she must know some guys who aren’t in that category. ;)

              Like

              1. joctavianr says:

                History Majors are cool. They know fun stuff. And some of them go to law school, which is cool.

                Like

                1. AnnaEstelle says:

                  Mhmm. They do. But CW majors also know fun stuff. …or at least they know…stuff…sometimes…actually, maybe not…

                  Like

  2. Bessie Lark says:

    Totally go with Becca. You seem to be gravitating toward her, and it’ll be nice for you to have someone with all your interests to cheer you up and sympathize with you and stuff like that.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      haha. The gravitational pull is just too strong! Can’t hold out! AHHHHH!!! *crunch*
      …idk why it crunched. it just did.
      Hmph. but see, my roomie now is starting to come around…I got her into Doctor Who and made her watch LotR. XD

      Like

      1. Bessie Lark says:

        Yeah, well, that means she’s way more of a newbie than you and Becca are. Usually oldies are more fun to toss references around with.

        Like

      2. Bessie Lark says:

        OR. You said Becca and you would need more people…could you get your roommate and her friend to go with the two of you?

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Suggested to Nicole that we could get Becca to live with us. Idk if that would work out though. There is already someone Nicole and her friend are thinking about to make the fourth person for the apartment, if I say yes. Also idk how Becca would get along with/like them. They are pretty…different. =P haha. but yea, there is already someone else they want to get anyway.

          Like

  3. joctavianr says:

    Go with Becca. Honestly, I doubt it would be a big deal to the other people. They are probably just as much working things out as you are. And it sounds like you would have fun.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hmph. But then I have to tell Nicole I’m ditching her. Have I ever told you how much I hate conflict of any sort? XD Also idk if Becca even really DOES want to live with me. WHY IS THIS SO HARD. -_-

      Like

  4. Lulu says:

    GO WITH REBECAK OR WHATEVER HER NAME IS

    FORGET THE OTHER PEOPLE THE ARE PUNKS.\

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    WISDOM FROM YOUR bROTHER

    I”M OUT

    PEACE.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I like you. XD

      …yea I seem to gravitate towards people of that name, don’t I? Though Becca’s name is spelled with ‘c’s, not a ‘k’ and an ‘h’.

      Like

  5. Coming from someone who’s been through this exact situation multiple times, go with the person who you REALLY want to room with (which sounds like Becca) because you deserve to be happy an be in a living situation that makes you even happier.

    PS- There are two person apartments in Brumler, Just sayin’. ;)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Ooh. There are two-person apartments? Sweet. Hmm. …*ponders* Shoot, I really hate telling people no. -_- Hmph.

      Like

  6. taethiel says:

    *agrees with everyone else* You should go with Becca. That’s what you want to do. ;) And I think you’d love it. …I’ll try not to be too jealous of her. -_-

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      But the thing is…I also wouldn’t mind living with my current roommate Nicole and her friend. I have spent a fair amount of time with the two of them this year so far, and it would be fun to live with them. …and it’s easier to live with them, because I don’t have to tell anyone no. *headdesk* I’m probably going to end up doing that. I suggested we get Becca to live with us, and they are both totally up for it, assuming they like her and all (they are now planning a secret “roommate trial” for her, so they can meet her and see if she’s someone they’d like to live with. I pity the girl). So I guess it is up to Becca – if she gets someone else to live with, or if she even would want to live with me and two other girls she doesn’t know. but if she doesn’t want to live with Nicole and Katie, I think I will go with them anyway. it’s easier.
      I just wish they would let me talk to Becca though. -_- Like tell her, yo, I want you to live with me but I’m living with these other people, but we need a fourth person anyway, so come meet them and see if they are nice. But they won’t let me say anything to her until they meet her and decide if she would be a good person to live with. Which I think is a silly way to go about it all. But whatever. People are dumb.

      Like

    2. AnnaEstelle says:

      Also, I can’t say no to Nicole and Katie. They are like. Immune to the word. And I would rather not make people hate me if I can help it.

      Like

Thoughts?

