Write Til You Drop

I came across a handout from my Creative Writing class last semester, as I was tidying up my desk last night. It is a printout of this essay by Annie Dillard, called “Write Til You Drop.” We read an excerpt (which I found here, if you’re interested – I highly recommend it) from one of her books, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, in class, and then one of my fellow students did a presentation on her at the end of the semester, giving us the essay as a handout. I came across “Write Til You Drop” again last night. All of you should read it. Especially those of you who write.

If my prose could be, someday, even half as good as hers, I would be more than content.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mariertps says:

    *sobbing* I’ll never be that good. But it is beautiful. o_o If this is the level of amazingness I have to write at in college, I’m doomed to flipping hamburgers.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Annie Dillard is an amazing successful author of much more experience than any college student ever. No one said you have to write like her. ;) …that would take me, at least, years and years of practice, and even then it is highly unlikely that I could ever be so good.

      Like

Thoughts?

