NaNo ate my sleep and my brain and is now starting on my soul.

I’m about 5k behind in wordcount (as of today – come midnight, it will be about 6.5k behind). It’s not that much. It’s really not bad. 5k words is not all that hard to come up with and write down.

the problem is that it’s 5k PLUS the amount I need to write added on EACH DAY, and I don’t know that I will be able to keep up with the days’ individual words, much less write even more than I need to get back on track.

I goin’ down.

not reaching 50k may be the death of me.

I began this knowing the chances of me winning this year were in the negative numbers. But I am incredibly competitive with myself, and once I set my mind to do something…If I then don’t actually succeed in doing it I am automatically ranked “failure” in my own eyes, regardless of whether or not I knew I was going to fail in the first place. so this is going to be interesting.

What is worse, I KNOW I can make it. I KNOW I can reach 50k. It is completely possible. All it would take is an extra hour and a half of not-sleeping every night. I’d be caught up and on my way to winning in no time.

but 1:00am bedtimes are hard enough on their own, without worrying about a novel added to that.

Also, the first half of this month I had it easy. Now? Now I have a research paper and several other smallerish writing assignments for my tolkien class to write, as well as a bunch of other writing assignments to revise for my final portfolio in that class. And two long essays to revise for my CW final portfolio. and an author portrait presentation to write for the same class. And a paper to write for my Ballet class. And that’s just the major writing homework I have…not including all the weekly shorter writing assignments for German, and the other non-written assignments for CW and German and dance classes. And the insanity that is the weekly readings for Tolkien Lit.

My gracious me.

Why do I do this to myself. If I lose I’ll never get over myself.

*sigh*

but homework always, always comes first. Always.

…which, unfortunately, means sleep comes last. Which means I go to bed at 1:00am instead of midnight. which means I spend my German and Lit classes struggling not to fall asleep, and skip chapel to come back to my room and nap (but then decide that’s a waste of time and spend it doing homework instead so I can write tonight). …which I guess means I should stop ranting on my blog and go actually accomplish some novel.

curse you, ambition, English majors, homework, and the 24-hour day. WHY IS IT NOT THIRTY SIX???

I apologize in advance to anyone who has to live with me for the next couple months.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. mariertps says:

    Sounds like you spend too much time thinking when you write. *pats* You need to do some serious time word warring. ^^ You get a break for Thanksgiving, right? Next week?

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I can’t help thinking when I write. -_- I care too much about my writing to spit out random words without thinking at least a little bit about them. Otherwise I feel like a loser because my writing stinks XD
      And yes, I get a break for Thanksgiving…but I’s going to be staying with my bestest friend ever and so will not have time to write. ;) Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. <3

      Like

      1. mariertps says:

        I shall have to break that habit of yours. *grins*
        Butbutbut you HAVE to write. o.o No wonder you don’t plan on winning gurl, you don’t take advantage of the moment. ^^

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          =P Yea, well, getting to spend time with Rebekah, who I have only gotten to see for a collective total of something like eighteen days, ever, is way more important to me than winning NaNo.

          Like

          1. mariertps says:

            Is this the Rebekah? As in, Jacob’s sis? o_____o in which case, you have every excuse in the world. *jealous* xD

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              Lol!!! Yes, this is the Rebekah. XD hahaha. Good. I knew you’d come around. *grins*

              Like

              1. mariertps says:

                *dying* you don’t know how lucky you are. :} Rare is the day when TPSers meet. xD And don’t want to tear eachother’s heads off.

                Like

                1. AnnaEstelle says:

                  No. There you’re wrong. I DO know how lucky I am. =P alsooooooooooooooooo just to make you even MORE jealous, Justin Rose (another TPSer…he comments on mah blog during the summer) is COMING TO MY HOUSE for like a week and a half over Christmas Break. Haven’t seen him in two and a half years. …and two and a half years ago was the first time I met him in real life…XD This is going to be awkward and EPIC and he can’t see my blog while he’s at college so I can say whatever evil things about him on here I like, and no one will ever be the wiser…*evil grin*

                  Like

                2. mariertps says:

                  AHHHH 2 TPSers???? -.- That is worth all the NaNo word counts in the world. Heheh. Maybe even all the dragontooth ocs in the world. Speaking of which, you need one. It would fit you perfectly *nods*

                  Like

      2. taethiel says:

        *bounces* *exciteddd*

        …*and jealous you get to see Justin again* -_- Not fair. I miss him. And everyone else. And yea. Can we just go back to high school?

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          …yea…i would be completely fine with going back to high school and staying there for good. *headdesk* *misses high school. a lot. a lottttt.*

          imagine i’m bouncing with you. I think the effort at this point would be enough to knock me off, if I actually tried it. =P

          Like

      3. juliel1tps says:

        I wouldn’t mind going back to elementary school. I wonder what it would be like if we TPSers were all together then… *imagines little TPSers running around* 0.o

        Like

      4. Dragonslayer says:

        Marie, ask Anna about her magic ocarina sometime.

        Like

  2. juliel1tps says:

    You sound like me. xP I should be in the 30K area, but I’m still in the 20Ks… >.< We can die together.

    Like

  3. Lulu says:

    adlastyearyouwereagoodlittlecollegestudet

    alwaysgoigtoedat8atightadwakigupat7

    owhahahahah

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …just gotta say, your comments are usually funny, but…this beats all.
      You should short out your keyboard more often. XD

      Like

  4. juliel1tps says:

    How do you get a NaNo word counter thingy on the side of your blog? I can’t find it. -____-

    Like

      1. juliel1tps says:

        Thanketh you. :D

        Like

      2. juliel1tps says:

        How does one insert it into one’s blog? =P

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Lol. Go to your Widgets page, and add the Text widget. Then copy the link for whichever counter you want from the NaNo website, and put that in the widget, and click save. =)

          Like

Thoughts?

