*desperate* like really.

Hi guys. I need a plot. Please can someone tell me what to write about?

The memoir idea is great. But it is going to require a lot more time and energy than I have right now to pull it off even remotely. It will also take a whole lot of planning that I didn’t do.

I’m considering starting over. With a different idea. That isn’t nonfiction.

I would like to write the memoir stuff at some point, but I don’t think now is the right time, because there is literally no way I can pull anything close to 50k out of my life without some serious planning and lots of thinking time. Don’t have that.

So I was thinking I’d start over and work on something else this month. I will probably just include the words I have already written as part of my wordcount, though (because I don’t believe it is against the rules to write more than one thing [and hey, I am already breaking some rules by doing nonficiton anyway, so I’m fine with that]) …so, starting over in plot but not in wordcount.

that said…I need a plot. Like, now. Or at least an idea where I can start.

I need a MC, and I need a villain or a force of evil or some sort of conflict. And I need a setting.

I was thinking about using Raya, and finally getting around to playing with her story (she’s certainly waited long enough for one). A few of you know who she is, I think. …at least I know I told one of you about her, anyway. =P

The problem with her, though, is that I have a couple characters and a setting, but…no conflict at all. Everything is far to pretty and happy and peaceful.

So.

Please can someone suggest conflicts and plot ideas? I’m really desperate. I don’t want to lose NaNo. One, because once I set my mind on something like that, I have a really hard time letting go of it =P And two, because I am a Creative Writing major, for pete’s sake. If I can’t come up with something to write about, what kind of a failure at my current chosen vocation does that make me? =P I want to write. I need to write. But I don’t know WHAT to write.

I might actually come to your house and hug you if you give me an idea that is half decent. Or a conflict. OR something that can happen to Raya.

For those of you who don’t know, Raya is a gal living with her father and her tribe of people on an island in the middle of a giant ocean. She likes swimming. And boats. Like canoes. And there are shark-like creatures in the water that eat you if you don’t look out. She has a friend (or a little brother? I dunno…) named Elden. She really likes rain. Rain has some sort of significance to her and her people…dunno what. Same with the ocean. Water in general, actually, is…significant for some reason. And wind. Oh, and Raya’s people are tribal, as I said, and somewhat primitive. No guns or anything like that. And originally, there was the idea of the Lightspell, but…I have absolutely no idea what that is. (creature? human? incantation? force of nature? god? whattttttt).

Ok. Conflicts, plots. Go.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Lalaithiel says:

    Ooh yeah I loved Raya in TC! The rain thing was awesome. <3 Conflict…hm…*tries to come up with something that isn't totally cliché* Maybe–*DragonSlayer comes and tells me his idea* Nope, nevermind. Just listen to him. =P

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hahahahaha XD I like having a personal idea-squad. =P

      Like

      1. Lalaithiel says:

        You should feel special. These idea-squads are hard to come by, y’know. And then for those who can’t afford them, they’re just left in the dust trying to come up with ideas on their own. Not fun. *nods* And you should totally post it on here once you finish. =D

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          IF I finish. and I am so not giving Raya a happy ending. I’m mad at NaNo. Someone’s gotta pay. *grins*

          Like

      2. Lalaithiel says:

        *makes mental note to stay away from Anna when she’s mad at something*

        Like

  2. Jacob Cullum says:

    Doing Raya is a good idea (coincidentally, I’m doing Seth Malac’s story).

    For plot conflicts… I honestly can’t think of many right now, except cliche ones (Oh oh oh, it could be an enviromentalist novel about big bad buisnessmen coming and trying to urbanize Raya’s world!). =P Whatever Dragonslayer says will probably be awesome, though.

    Like

  3. Dragonslayer says:

    Hopefully I helped.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Yes, thanks. ;) …assuming I actually write and don’t just scrap the whole month, cut it out of the calendar, stick it in a blender, burn the pieces, and scatter the ashes in the nearest lake. =P

      Like

  4. sarahtps says:

    Ouch.

    Also, plot idea: you say that rain is important to your character’s society. Maybe the rain suddenly stops coming, and it’s not just a drought or something, it’s something darker. And then strange things start happening on the island and all the things the society reveres start turning against them and your character has to figure out why and what’s going on.

    That sounded weirder typed out than it did in my head . . . hope I helped anyway. Good luck with your new plot!

    Like

  5. mariertps says:

    *raises eyebrow* Bahaha. Funny how you get all these AMAZING plot ideas in the middle of NaNo, and then forget them as soon as it ends. Works like magic.

    Like

Thoughts?

