How I feel about my writing

 

Also. Everyone be jealous. Especially Grace.

I just got back from watching the Extended Edition of the first Hobbit movie, with the English department. And I discovered that Lydia, a fellow dancer who I barely see, this year, is almost as big a Tolkien geek as me. Almost meaning she hasn’t read as much as I have. But she knows things. O_O SHE KNOWS THINGS ABOUT TOLKIEN.

And I am bringing the Extended LotR movies back here with me after Christmas Break and me and her are WATCHING THEM TOGETHER because she hasn’t seen the Extendeds. Ahhhhhhhh.

Be happy you aren’t here. My Tolkien high is kicking in.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Dragonslayer says:

    Congrats, Anna.

    Like

  2. Jacob Cullum says:

    Always nice to discover a kindred spirit. *grins*

    Out of curiosity, was the Extended Edition of The Hobbit any good? =P It seemed like the original was extended enough… *cough*

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hmm. Well. It was Tolkien. Thus I enjoyed it immensely. sort of. As much as I can enjoy that movie…I still can’t reconcile myself to what they did to poor Radagast. *facepalm* So yea. It was only like a half-hour or something longer than the theatrical version, so I was told, so there wasn’t THAT much more in it. Some of the scenes they added were really good though, I thought. There was some extra stuff in the Shire in the beginning, and some more stuff in Rivendell. They also added some more to the council scene with Gandalf/Saruman/Galadriel/Elrond, which made that scene make a little bit more sense to me. Those were the places that stuck out the most to me. I liked it. But no, it wasn’t really all that much longer than the theatrical version. …there were more songs, though. I am a fan of songs. …especially when they’re Tolkien…

      Like

    2. AnnaEstelle says:

      …it was really cool to watch it in a setting surrounded by other English majors/Tolkien nerds, though. The collective gasps at all the right places, and the whispered debates on the accuracy of certain points, and the quoting along with the movie at any and all random spots…that was awesome. And afterwards I stood around and talked for a really long time with some people all about Tolkien and the Sil and LotR and the Children of Hurin and the Book of Lost Tales and it was WONDERFUL. So that bit also influenced my impressions of the thing. ;)

      Like

  3. Bessie Lark says:

    YOU SAW THE EXTENDED EDITION!!! I wanna see Bofur’s song…and Kili trying to flirt with the Elf girl and Dwalin calling him on it…and was the Goblin King’s song any good? *dies* I’m not going to see that most likely until all three movies are out and we can save money by getting the boxed set like we did with LotR.
    There. Was that enough reaction to satisfy you? =DD

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I enjoyed Bofur’s song. I was happy that that poem made it into one of the movies…I like that poem a lot =P Even if it DOES technically belong in LotR, and they DID only do like three stanzas. -_- Hmph. I want the whole thingggggggg. XD Same with Far Over Misty Mountains. Can we please have more than two verses? I was hoping they would make that longer in the extended, but no. -_-
      Kili checking out the Elves was kind of funny. =P Again, I liked the stuff they added to Rivendell. It was quite funny. It didn’t fit exactly with the feel of the Rivendell visit in the book, but it was humorous and it worked with the way the Dwarves are portrayed in the film. And Lindir’s face…priceless. Ah, Lindir. I pity the Elf. XD
      The goblin king’s song…well. It was cool to see them include that poetry in the movies. I listened over the summer to some podcasts from The Tolkien Professor, where he talked about that poem a lot, especially in relation to the poetry of the Dwarves (Far Over Misty Mountains), and I was really intrigued by the things he was talking about…So I was glad they included it. However, I think the Goblin King is just too comical a figure to pull it off correctly. I dunno. It just…didn’t work at all the way it does in the book. So, I was glad they tried to include it, but they totally stripped it of all the darkly gleeful qualities it has in the book.

      Yea, it was a pretty good reaction, I guess. I expected more capitol letters, though…*grins* ;)

      Like

  4. mariertps says:

    That is how I feel. =P Everytime the family walks by, I’m like o.o… paws off. Divert your smirking eyes. (that sounds weird)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      if someone is standing remotely near me in a position where it might be possible for them to see my computer screen…I can’t write. I just can’t. All my concentration completely disappears. And I’m just like…go away don’t look its not done yet shoo get out of here you’re a stalker.

      Like

      1. mariertps says:

        I’ll be sure not to watch you anymore then. xD Would it make you nervous if you suddenly found out I was your roommate right now?

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          um. yes. a lot. o.o

          Like

  5. sarahtps says:

    The Hobbit Extended Edition is out? Really? OH MY THRICE BAKED PUMPERNICKEL! I looked through the comments and saw that you seem to think it was good, so I will totally have to see it sometime.
    Oh, and you were wanting a full version of the Misty Mountain song? Your wish is my command: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8ymgFyzbDo
    It’s not official, but it sounds like it should be, and it is awesome.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      rofl XD
      Yea…I enjoyed it. =) I decided that for the sake of having a complete library at my fingertips, I need to own it. =P I may not put it next to my tolkien books on my shelf though…idk…it’s just not quite…worthy of the honor…XD
      Oo. That IS cool…*likes* =D

      Like

      1. sarahtps says:

        I definitely get what you mean.
        Glad you liked it!

        Like

Thoughts?

