Writer problems

Dangit, it’s turning out to be well nigh impossible to switch from present tense to past tense for these darned flashbacks. -_- Maybe I’ll just write it all in present tense and say who cares. *pouts*

…actually I think I am going to do that…*throws caution to the wind and gives in to Preset* …gosh, that happens like never, doesn’t it?

-_- It’s only november 4th and I already hate my book. For several reasons. =P *tries for only at least 10k tonight because I dun think I can stand it any longer than another thousand words*

editing this junk heap is not going to be fun.

if I ever edit.

Big if.

…*sigh* I want to be a writer but I can never produce anything worth the memory space it takes up on poor Arthur’s hard drive. WHY DO I MAJOR IN THINGS I’M NO GOOD AT???

 

‘kay. life crisis over. I’m going back to writing. *grumbles*

25 Comments Add yours

  1. mariertps says:

    You have no reason to complain about your NaNo project. Mine is much worse. And yes, I can say that because I saw yours and you haven’t seen mine. =3 heheh. I really am beginning to hate myself for trying NaNo in the first place.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      You saw a very, very small piece of mine. That part is actually at least half-decent. Or I wouldn’t have posted it. Everything I’ve written after that is worthy of a bad word, and 99% description. I literally have almost 10,000 words with no dialogue to speak of.
      Ha. No dialogue to speak of…did you catch that? XD
      NaNo is wonderful, but sometimes I wonder if I wouldn’t be better off forgetting the whole 50K thing and going for quality over quantity. …but then nothing would ever get written…would it? I don’t know. I really…don’t know. NaNo is what gives me incentive to write. …what if I dropped it and found some other way of giving myself incentive?

      …nah. No other ways actually exist. XD And plus I have told too many people here (ok like three) that I am doing it so I can’t back out. and I don’t really want to. I just know that this novel is going to end up never touched once the month ends, like every other novel I’ve tried to write, and that is sad because…I really wanted to write it. I really wanted it to be good.
      Actually I think I just really wanted to do something, anything, and have it be good… prove to myself that I’m not stupid for majoring in writing and dance, and all that jazz.

      Like

      1. mariertps says:

        Whoa. *clamps mouth shut* hold your red white and blue horses for a second. I’m the pessimist around here. XD That is number one. Number two is, I haven’t written anything in my young and fatally beautiful life that comes even close to the amazingness of your stuff. At least, nothing that comes to mind. You can trade places with me, I have pages and pages of dialogue and no storyline. What kind of a book is that? A monologue? Every tenth word is “thing” “something” or “though.” I can write fast, but it is all junk. And I would trade a lot to be able to have your knowledge of Tolkien. *nods* x} So hang in there, as hypocritical as that may sound…

        Like

  2. mariertps says:

    And another thing, Tolkien’s Silm or whatever it is was almost completely non-dialogue. ^^ So there.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      You just made my night. Red white and blue horses? *hands cookie* Young and fatally beautiful life? *hands ice cream* You make me laugh.
      However. Psh. You think you’re the only pessimist around here? Check again. I present myself. I am a pessimist with the lowest self esteem this side of china, with a second personality that tends to get in the way and be all witty and annoying while my poor pessimistic self is whining in the corner because it just wants to draw bleeding hearts with black sharpie on the walls in peace. *grins* …k, so that is a little bit dramatic, but you get the picture. ;)
      Also we should collab and write a book together. You do dialogue, I’ll do description. Bam. maybe it will actually get finished too…*facepalm*
      And the Sil doesn’t count. One, I could never compete with Tolkien’s absolute brilliance. Two, that is essentially a history book. How much dialogue do you find in history books? And three, it is not a book that an average reader would want to read, since it IS history and it IS so…intense.

      …also, for *clamping your mouth shut,* you certainly just made a very long comment…=#

      Like

      1. mariertps says:

        Haha xD *pats* Well, you have a good imagination. Black sharpies and bleeding hearts? I shall have to remember that. When we have that TPS get together and we shove DS in the dolphin tank, we will draw bleeding hearts together as a crafts project. :} Everyone will love it. Yeah…. I think I may skip the next NaNo. Maybe I’ll do JulNo again. ^^ I could use some of your brilliant plots someday when you get the chance. Um, The Sil does count. I know, the world is uncultured. Who wouldn’t want to read that stuff? *frowns* XD Best history book ever.
        Naughty me.

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Lol! Deal. XD …but why a dolphin tank? Why not something slightly more…i dunno, dangerous? *koff*
          I told myself last year that I wasn’t going to do NaNo this year. I am now remembering why. XP No matter how hard I try, I don’t think I’ll be able to win this time though, because I’m so busy with homework and doing a ton of writing for some of my classes anyway…I think, since I prolly wont win anyway, I’m going to stop trying for words and start trying for better quality…like, not 10k of description. XD we’ll see how THAT goes. Watch me end up with a grand total of like 6k. -_- =P
          also, don’t come to me for plots. That’s another reason I hate noveling – I can’t come up with a plot to save my life. =P
          It IS the best history book ever…but it is still a history book and not a novel. ;)

          Like

          1. mariertps says:

            Originally, he said he was going to hangout with you and ignore everyone else, so I was just going to put him in the dolphin tank. There has been a change of plans. We are going to import a great white just for him. *smirk*
            This is a matter of life and death. o.o if I don’t make it into college with scholarships, mum and dad might just cut my life short. NaNo isn’t worth it. xD You already have more than 10k though. If I went for quality… *sigh* I’m going to have to trim half of the chapters out of this book.
            Aw. *pouts*

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              *rubs hands and grins evilly*
              Haha. Yea…but I have 10K of which 9.5k would be deleted, or chopped way way down, if I ever edited the thing. So…it’s pretty much a wasted 10k that is worth nothing, or very little. So instead of continuing with that, I think I’ll just get rid of the worst bits now and work more for quality. If I want to write a book, I don’t have to do it all in just a month. I have my whole life ahead of me in which to publish things and be famous. I’m not a failure just because I’m not published by the time I turn 20. …*attempts to brainwash self* …right? XD =P …though I may just leave what I already have and edit it later, and just work on slowly adding more, I think. That way I don’t have to watch my wordcount die as quickly. XD hehehe.

              Like

              1. mariertps says:

                Yeahhh…. *looks guiltily at book* The thing is, I want to say I did NaNo at least once, so the cutting out parts is so painful. JulNo doesn’t really qualify. xP I’m still annoyed that I haven’t published yet. *dies* Bahaha.

                Like

  3. Lulu says:

    Alright, so why don’t you have a narrator for the flashbacks? So like you could have a chicken to be the narrator and then it can talk about its farm life. Like have it talk about its morning routine right? So it could get up, go to work. But during that time he has a climax at the work because during WWII the Nazis not only wanted Europe but also they built underground tunnels. Through that the board game, Sorry, became popular because of its similarities it had with that Baroque time period. It makes since because Rembrant not only painted The Night Watch but also thought the idea of the painting up. The reason that is important is because it actually wasn’t a night scene, it just had heavy varnish on it. Also if you use this animal as a spirit guide you could easily tie it in to the rise of rap during the early 90s. 2pac comes to mind with this as he was a popular rapper during that time period although with Telle Tubbies it brought in more money to the TV programmers. Thus the stocks rose fairly quickly before the fall around 2008. And of course the middle east had a big role in that with the adaption of cheap leather for shoes. Now jumping a few years back to the Roman Empire it is important to remember that this was before the Renaissance period, although Shakespear was to come hundreds of years later. Of course some people argue that he was god and thus his works were around after 2012. Overall the heavy weather in Texas has risen the christmas tree population in Hati so it looks like it will be a good year for Toys R Us.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …I do NOT want to know how much time you spent writing this comment.
      However…you, sir, need to be a comedian. XD *awards chocolate and red sox shirts* you rock.

      Like

    2. Jacob Cullum says:

      …that was completely random and awesome, Lulu. XD *is literally grinning super hard*

      Like

    3. mariertps says:

      Yeah I’m with Anna, that is impressive. =D All you need is a afro and a huge nose. And maybe some lipstick.

      Like

    4. Dragonslayer says:

      That, sir, was hilarious. And Marie, you’re against long hair on guys, but fine with lipstick?

      Like

      1. mariertps says:

        ………we are talking about the difference between being a clown or a flirt. Clowns use makeup.

        Like

      2. Dragonslayer says:

        Hasty generalization!! NOT ALL GUYS WITH LONG HAIR ARE FLIRTS! HAH! Fallacy. =D NaNo makes me hyper.

        Like

        1. mariertps says:

          o___________o *reaches for gun*

          Like

    5. sarahtps says:

      That was impressive.
      Also, for some reason, this reminds me of an article I recently read about how facts apparently don’t matter anymore in SAT essays. The person writing the article (who was a teacher) wrote this ridiculous essay inserting real people into different time periods and situations and stuff, and apparently he submitted it and got a perfect score. (Link for proof: http://www.applerouth.com/blog/2009/06/01/in-praise-of-folly-writing-the-sat-essay/)

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        …that is the most inspiring thing I’ve seen all week. Man, if I’d known that when I took the SAT…XD wow. That’s epic. XD Now I want a novel about JFK leading the Saxons against Lilliput…Someone write that.

        Like

        1. sarahtps says:

          IKR? I can’t believe that actually worked. And that would definitely be an interesting novel.

          Like

  4. sarahtps says:

    Don’t give up, Anna! I know you can do it!

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Ahhhhhhhhhhhh. Idk. I think the chances of me hitting 50k are quiiiite minuscule, and always were, regardless of what I write. I have so much writing for school, especially in the last couple weeks of this month. Yay for having classes that require a final portfolio rather than an exam.
      …but seriously, yay. I’d SO rather write than take a test. =P

      Like

      1. sarahtps says:

        Ouch. But I can’t help agreeing; writing would definitely be better than tests.

        Like

  5. vtgrandview says:

    I have such clever chickens……………….

    Like

Thoughts?

