A little something that EVERYONE needs to hear.

There are times when technology is the best. thing. ever. invented. EVER.

Behold, Tolkien himself, reading a portion of his Riddles in the Dark chapter, from The Hobbit. Ahhhhhhhhhh!!! Hello, world. This is Anna, freaking out.

Listen at least for a couple minutes, if you don’t want to listen to it all. Tolkien has a totally epic Gollum voice. And the way he rolls his ‘r’s is phenomenal and WHY couldn’t I have been born fifty years earlier? *sigh* Ah well. I’m so getting his autograph when I get to heaven.

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Lulu says:

    Grats on 30k blog views, you need to mail everyone a cookie.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Wow. Lookie at that. I’ll have to give everyone virtual cookies. We can have a party. =D
      speaking of food, my Tolkien Lit prof brought us doughnuts in class today. WUT. \m/

      Like

  2. Your reaction was pretty much mine when I discovered this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tH5jx-I1Z3o

    Pure awesomeness.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Lol!! Yay for having heroes who died before we were even born. *sigh* hehe =P

      Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …whaaaa…what is this beauty…<3

      Have I ever told you that at one point I was this close *fingers half an inch apart* from writing an opera of the Children of Hurin? I printed out a synopsis of the book, made family trees, wrote character descriptions…Emily picked out opera singers for each of the characters…She and I were going to produce it together.
      then I realized I didn't actually have any clue how to compose a melody, much less an opera score, and I didn't know enough Elvish to put some songs in it. *sigh* …but someday…when Emily marries a famous opera singer…it shall be accomplished.

      Like

      1. Bessie Lark says:

        The Tolkien ensemble has some really beautiful songs. I think you’d enjoy them from what I’ve heard. Beren and Luthien just happens to be the loveliest–I was overjoyed to find the whole thing online free like that. On Amazon you can listen to samples of most of their MP3s, and I’m certain YouTube would have a ton of videos of them.
        …randomly, speaking of Amazon…I’ve found your wishlist. =)
        Hey, when someday comes around, I could maaaybe help with melodies, though harmony would be harder. Because CoH seems majorly overlooked by fans, and opera does seem a really good medium for portraying its tragedy.

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Yea…I did find some others on youtube. <3 so coollllllll. =D
          …um. how did you find me on amazon? I didn't even know that was possible…o_O also, I have no idea what is even on my wishlist anymore XD hehehe. *goes to look at it* hmmm…I have good taste. XD
          Lol. Yea, CoH is by far my favorite book by Tolkien, I think…and it's so perfect for an opera! Agh. I wish I was really musical sometimes. I would love to make it into an opera, but that would never happen =P *headdesk* Maybe I could go for a screenplay instead…that doesn't take music XD

          Like

          1. Bessie Lark says:

            Well, your wish list is public, so I could find it by searching your name. You might be able to find mine, too, if you want. And some of those dresses you have on yours are lovely. =)
            Screenplay is a movie script, right? Maybe Jacob could direct it. :D

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              …how’d you know what name to search? Isnt my name different than Anna goodling on there? …or no wait, I guess that’s juts my display name, not my account name. Interesting…
              Yep. ;)

              Like

  3. Dragonslayer says:

    In case I don’t get to listen that far, is this the revised or unrevised edition he’s reading?

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      revised, I believe. I skipped a bit of it in the middle (because as amazing as it is, I had to read six chapters before the next morning for my class and I read faster in my head than he does out loud, and it was about 12:30 at night). But it was the same as my book, except for a couple words here and there, which was probably was just a mis-read.

      Like

      1. Dragonslayer says:

        Yeah, I listened about halfway through, and it is, unfortunately, the revised edition.

        Like

  4. sarahtps says:

    I haven’t had time to listen to this whole thing yet, but I listened to a bit, and it is awesome. He sounds just like I imagine Gandalf sounding. If that sentence even made sense.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Agh. I know, right? I thought he sounded like Gandalf too. <3 Man. He would have been AWESOME to have as a professor. *sigh* =P

      Like

      1. sarahtps says:

        Oh my pumpernickel. That would be amazing.

        Like

Thoughts?

