Just a quick note…

I told myself last year that I wasn’t going to do NaNo again.

Not only do I definitely not have enough free time the first half of the week to keep up with the writing, I also don’t like noveling.

But here it is over halfway through September (over halfway? Already? …yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss. *sounds of great rejoicing*)

And I have found NaNo lurking in the back of my head again, saying,” come on, Anna…you did me twice, and won both times…half your crazy friends are doing me…how can you call yourself any sort of writer and pass me up? Join again…you know you want to…”

Yea.

I think I’m giving in to the NaNo-pressure.

 

 

So, in other words, please help me come up with something to write? I have no ideas but if I start planning ahead of time maybe there will be more hope for me to actually complete it and have fun with it? …suggestions…?

Or you can just tell me I’m an idiot for even thinking about this again. That’s ok too. It’s totally true. *grins*

54 Comments Add yours

  1. Lulu says:

    Nano Challange: Write in present time no fantasy.

    Now go do it.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …but I still need a plot. =P

      Like

  2. Annika says:

    You should try a sappy romance.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Ooh. I love your avatar, Annika. =))

      *grins* yea…Romance is ok…idk if I can do sappy, though. Idk if my writing powers extend that far. hehe =P I could definitely give that a shot. But. I’ve never sat down with writing a romance as my goal, so it’d be a new experience. but probably fun. maybe.
      But again. I still need a plot. *glares at plots* -_-

      Like

      1. Annika says:

        I think two people falling in love is plot enough. Throw in a couple misunderstandings and boom! you have a novel.

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Lol. Ok. You definitely have a point. XD hehe =P

          Like

    2. mariertps says:

      If you write a romance, there shall be a great cry in the USA, which has never been heard or ever will be again XD

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        …a good cry or a bad cry? o_o

        *ahem* …well. A bad cry from Mr. Dragonslayer, I’m sure. But. He hardly constitutes the entirety of the USA…

        Like

        1. mariertps says:

          A Bad cry. With a capital B. xD And I shall come up there and slay every romantic ninconp-….thing.

          Like

          1. AnnaEstelle says:

            I see. Well, it would get you to come visit me, apparently, and I’ve never been known to pass up a viable chance to meet a TPSer…

            Like

            1. mariertps says:

              Oooh. *makes note to self* I might pop in someday if I’m visiting colleges or something. *amused* After I actually learn where you live.

              Like

      2. Dragonslayer says:

        Maybe I’d just laugh.

        Like

  3. JudahC says:

    Plots are overrated.

    I can’t give you any suggestions because I can’t even help myself. I sorta kinda promised my mom and Annika I’d write a certain story, but I have decided I hate my characters, the plot is silly and full of mistakes, and I’m not too fond of the setting either.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Haha. I am known for a lack of plot ideas. Which is part of the reason I don’t like noveling, I guess. I know I can write a novel without having a specific plot laid out beforehand…I did it the first year I did NaNo. But…I at least had an idea, and a group of set characters. =P now I got nothin’. -_-

      Like

      1. Bessie Lark says:

        So write another one about your friends. Only make them the more recent friends. So there’s like a really sarcastic dude who goes around killing dragons or whatever, and a book-loving romantic who never gets the man she’s in love with, and her twin or triplet sisters who hate all romance whatsoever, and a writer or two who burst out with plot ideas at the most inopportune times, etc. Does that help? =D

        Like

      2. Dragonslayer says:

        And they all die at the end.

        Like

      3. Bessie Lark says:

        And the world collapses in on itself because they were its guardians or necessary for it to hold together or something.

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Yea…but see, I don’t interact with you guys enough anymore to have enough material to write on. The entire first three quarters of The Power Beyond came from one (very long=P) conversation/adventure (conventure?) I had with a couple of my “old gang” of TPS buddies. I literally had the vast majority of the “plot”** handed to me, and I just had to get it out of forum-post mode and into book mode (with, of course, a little elaboration and jimmying with the facts. but, you know, what’s an author for?) =P I don’t interact with my “more recent friends,” as you say, nearly enough for that to work. ..heh. Also I don’t interact nearly enough, anymore, with the old group for that to work now either. We still talk, but we don’t really conventure together anymore because there’s no way for us to all…talk at once. XD

          I totally coined a new word. Conventure is epic.

          ** I put plot in quotes. it…wasn’t really a plot. XD it was just a thing…and I signed up for nano the night before at like ten o’clock. and had no idea what I was going to do until like three dsys into it. at which point i just started writing randomly and pretending my idea was an actual plot. which, by the time I finished, it had sort of turned into one…kind of. XD

          Like

  4. Lalaithiel says:

    Right after writing a blog post about your lack of sleep and crazy school days, you begin to think about NaNo? Girl, you’re insane. xD
    Plot ideas? Write a book about this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A76a_LNIYwE

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I know, right? Tell me about it.
      Hmm. Yes. That is intriguing. I like the song, and the video is really cool… *adds to mental bank of potential inspiration* =)

      Like

  5. mariertps says:

    *raises finger* dun kill me if you decide to put me inna book along with romance. :} That is another way to end your life quickly.

    Like

    1. mariertps says:

      I should restate that. Don’t kill me inna book, and do not put me IN a book with romance.

      Like

      1. Lalaithiel says:

        You mean to say you wouldn’t want to be killed in a book? Why ever not?!
        I’m gonna second the motion (the last part, anyway): don’t even think of putting me anywhere NEAR romance. *brandishes bow*

        Like

        1. mariertps says:

          My life would end O.O owait. I already killed myself in a book. Nvm. Allz fine. ^^
          *brandishes whip*

          Like

      2. Dragonslayer says:

        Lala, you mean the twenty pound recurve that couldn’t kill a rabbit much less a person? THAT bow?

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          *writes a romance, featuring Lalaithiel and Marie as main characters, and Seth as the villain, who dies when he trips over the foot of some Anglo-Saxon princess and falls in a swamp*

          …but really not…o_O
          though that WOULD be an interesting book…

          Like

        1. mariertps says:

          That story sounds epic. Just leave out the part with Quesse an me. :P

          Like

          1. AnnaEstelle says:

            It actually does sound kind of epic. However, I couldn’t leave you out…that;s what makes it so funny…*grin*

            Like

      3. Bessie Lark says:

        And I could be that Anglo-Saxon princess…. 0=) Oooops….

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          *cough* actually the Anglo-Saxon princess is Judah…you can be her, I dunno, pet dog or something, though. *nods* O=)

          Or maybe you could be Seth’s not-so-villainous sidekick, who is reformed when Seth dies his tragic death and then swears fealty to the Anglo-Saxon princess and devotes all her efforts to seeing the two star-crossed pairs of lovers happily married to their prince charmings…

          Like

          1. Bessie Lark says:

            His sidekick? Look, if I’m his sidekick, I’m a traitor, a Benedict Arnold, a Vidkun Quisling, a double-crosser who helps the other side. =P But yeah, the seeing the lovers married bit is right up my line. =DD

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              So we have a deal…
              O=)
              =P

              Like

              1. Bessie Lark says:

                …a deal? Hmmm…I think we’d need Seth’s permission. He may not want me as a sidekick any more than I particularly care for him as a commander. =D But I suppose it’s a deal.

                Like

                1. AnnaEstelle says:

                  Well, no one ever said I was actually writing this. The chances of me making a novel out if it are slim. But. If I ever decided to. *evil grin*

                  Like

      4. Jacob Cullum says:

        Anna, if you were to write this story, you would have to post it for us all to read. *grins*

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          lol. if I did, I would. but don’t count on it. =P At least not for NaNo…although it is very intriguing…
          but I know nothing about Anglo-Saxon princesses. Like. Was there such a thing? All I know consists mainly of mead halls and minstrelsy…=P

          Like

    2. JudahC says:

      XD I didn’t trip him. More like he purposely walked into my foot.

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        Yes. Well. Very true. Actually, it was more like he voluntarily jumped in himself, but…it would make the story more interesting if you tripped him. *grin*

        Like

      2. Dragonslayer says:

        I didn’t want to know. It was that bad.

        Like

      3. Dragonslayer says:

        But Judy can’t really be an Anglo-saxon princess, because she knows like nothing about Anglo-saxony.

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Which is exactly the reason I made her the Anglo-Saxon princess… it’s funny…
          oh come on. yes it is.
          No, really.
          …-_-

          Like

      4. Dragonslayer says:

        She could be the culturally ignorant princess, I suppose.

        Like

      5. JudahC says:

        Ohhh. Now I get why I’m an Anglo-Saxon princess. *nods wisely* I didn’t get it before. Not that I’m fond of being a culturally ignorant princess…

        Like

  6. sarahtps says:

    You’re doing NaNo? Huzzah! I think I already found you on the site; I’m Leilani Sunblade there if you didn’t know.

    On the subject of plot ideas, I’ll have to get back to you on that. I like the “friends as characters” idea, though.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      heyheyhey look, it’s you. =D your avvy on NaNo meets my unwavering approval. *grins* <3 yay Arwen. …I need to see those movies again badly. *sigh*
      someday…someday it will happen again…someday when I have time to enjoy my old loves again. stinking college. *glowers*

      But seriously. any plot ideas I welcome. =P If only to get me started thinking and help me decide what I DON'T want to write…gotta narrow it down somehow, right? XD haha.

      Like

      1. sarahtps says:

        Thank you very much! I hope you can find time to watch them again; sorry you’re so busy.

        As for plot ideas, here are a few that I came up with last night. Some of them may’ve been done before, but I think there’s various ways you could spin most of them, and they could probably be easily transferred to another genre too.
        -Main character who loves fantasy and dreams of having their own adventure, but when it comes along it’s not at all what they expect. Bonus points if chess or another board game plays a major role in the story.
        -Story about a group of people with “misfit powers” (powers that aren’t actually useful for much of anything or even get in the way). They, of course, end up having to save the world or something to that effect. Bonus points if one of the characters has the power that other people’s powers mess up or backfire when (s)he’s nearby. Cookies if (s)he ends up being the one to ultimately save the day.

        Also, a few songs I feel are kind of inspirational in the sense that they could inspire a character/scene/story:
        The Old Ways by Loreena McKennit- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SG6ZITbWpU
        Serve Somebody by Nicole Nordeman- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcUpYKpNpE4
        Hero by Skillet-

        Gollum’s Song from the Two Towers soundtrack (take it out of context of Gollum and LOTR)- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biGP2BXVsYI

        Hope I could help!

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Oo. Brilliant. You’re awesome. =D Thanks so much! *adds to bank of plotting helps* ;)

          Oooooohhh…The Old Ways is one of my favorite songs ever <3 I wrote a little scene based on it for one of my CW free-write assignments…Agh. So epic. that's actually a really awesome idea…to put it into something larger…Oo…..=D

          Like

          1. sarahtps says:

            You’re welcome! I’m glad I could be of assistance! I look forward to hearing what you decide to do!

            Isn’t it beautiful? I found it through a blog tour for one of my favorite author’s new books. You wrote a scene for it? Cool! Is it on this blog somewhere?

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              Hehe. No worries. When/if I ever make a decision, it will be posted here. Along with the rest of my life. Seriously, I don’t know what I would do without my darling blog. …probably annoy the world a lot less with my complaining, actually…heh. XD Oops. =P

              It isssss <3 =) Hehe, yea. It's posted here somewhere…*goes searching for it* Ah. Here it is. Just keep in mind I wrote this several years ago (like…three? Gosh, has it really been so long? o_O) and haven't touched it since. It needs editing. =P *cringes a little bit* but whatevs. ;) Here's the link:
              https://annaestelle.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/cw8-call-of-the-waves/
              *reads it again too* …hmm. well. that makes me feel better about my writing now. XD hehe =P Oh Ms. Gaines, how I miss you. *sadface*

              Like

              1. sarahtps says:

                Good to hear! And LOL. I don’t mind hearing about your life; I enjoy it.

                Ooh, I really like it! I especially like how you included many of the song lyrics in your story.

                Like

      2. Bessie Lark says:

        I liked that little scene. It would be interesting expanded.

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Yea. Me too.
          though I feel like Mermaid’s Kiss kinda dealt with that a little bit already…hmm.

          Like

Thoughts?

