As Summer Draws to a Close…

because it should totally be fall now.

 

 

The people I’m house-sitting for come back this Saturday. Only two more days of having my own house…my own car…my own doggies…my own chores…my own messy kitchen…my own vacuuming to do…my own cat litter box to clean…

*sadface*

I want my own house now. =) But maybe just not in town. And maybe just not with evil front-door-windows. And maybe just not quite so big, when it’s only me there…

I also want my own car. Just maybe one that gets really good gas mileage, because I hardly drove anywhere except to work and I had to spend all the cash I had on gas. -_- Lame. …but the sunroof is rockin’ awesome…

And I really also want a dog again. </3

…when the rightful owners of the house/car/doggies/chores/kitchen/kitties return, they’re probably going to think I’m crazy because they will find every radio in the house and car turned to the country music station, with the volume cranked up a bit too high. Heh. It’s kind of scary. I’ve basically listened to country music and nothing else all summer. And enjoyed it. It’s something so idealized and unrealistic in its messages and assumptions to listen to. Keeps me from having to think about reality and the impending return of college and all that fun stuff.

Actually, country music currently holds the status of an audible security blanket.

I like it.

 

Now that house-sitting is over, I’ll have more time to write again. Assuming I can actually force myself to do it. I want to finish my story (so badly!) before I go back to school. But I’m pretty much certain that won’t happen. *sigh* It’s taken me how many months to get the seven and a half pages I have now? Yea…my point exactly. Also, I really want to finish reading The Brothers K. before my return to school. But that DEFINITELY will not happen. I’m at like page 175. Out of a whole lot more than that. Maybe a fifth or sixth of the way through? XD I want to write, and I want to read, so consequently I can never decide which of those two to do, so I end up doing neither…the Middle Child Syndrome strikes again.

I like this. I can blame all my problems on being the middle child. </sarcasm> XD

 

Speaking of the great Return To School, my classes start up August 27th. Three weeks, five days from now. I’m excited for them. They’ll be awesome. I know, I picked them. And I am looking forward to seeing everyone from Sacred Dance again. However, I am totally not excited to go back to Holland. Not at all. And I’m definitely not excited to be going back to a dorm room, cafeteria meals, only ever seeing people within three years of my age, and having less than no privacy. When I graduate from college, my plan is to become a professional recluse. Next time someone asks me what I want to do with my English major…

Assuming I’m an English major. I still can’t decide where that ranks on the scale of Stupidity. Yay for having interests in things I’m not good at and wanting to support myself off things you can’t make enough money to pay rent with, much less college loans.

And I don’t know my new address yet, but when I find out, I’ll send it to those of my readers who may be interested in it. Taethiel, Lisse, I’m looking at you right now. (Taeth, you need to send me chocolate again. And then maybe I’ll return the favor. By buying you some chocolate and then leaving it on my desk for three months, and mentioning it every time I talk to you but never actually mailing it to you…*halo* *innocent smile* But you wouldn’t know anything about that, would you…*cough*) O=)

Actually people, chocolate donations are welcome from anyone. If any of you have extra chocolate laying around just say so and I’ll give you my address too, once I find it out…

As long as you don’t send letter-bombs O_O

 

On another note, my last day of work here is the 15th. Two more weeks! Can’t believe I survived. Actually, I’m not as surprised that I survived as I am that I still really like my job a lot. =P Hard work feels good. Sweating under the amazing sun all day feels good. Working in the rain is absolutely beautiful. Dirt forever under my fingernails and garlic-smelling-hands is fun. (seriously, they still smell like garlic. From a week ago. And to make things worse, today we harvested onions…my hands hate me. I’m losing all the skin on my fingers. …at least the dust mites are happy. Although, idk. Do dust mites like garlic-onion-flavored dead skin? o_O) But really. I am totally more buff now than I was at the start of the summer. *flexes muscles* Hoeing all day will do that to you. Booyah. \m/ My ballet teacher better appreciate this, baby.

I would kind of like to keep working at Luna Bleu next summer, if my boss wants me back. However, I don’t know if I could survive working there more than three days a week like I am this summer. I need a day in between to recover O_O hehe. But I need to work more hours next summer so I can make more money in an attempt to keep the bank from taking my body as well as my soul, which I already sold to it. So. Idk. We shall see.

Also, there’s totally an art to cultivating a nice farmer’s tan. *grins* …or rather, to not getting a farmer’s tan when you work outside in the sun all day. And I totally don’t have one. Well. Ish. Sort of not.

 

Ok goodbye. *drives in my car back to my house and my doggies, to clean up my kitchen, vacuum my floors, finish my chores, and relax with my kitties* Tschuss.

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna. Have you ever thought about writing fiction (or non-fiction) in the style of blog posts like this? You have a total gift for humor, irony, wit, and all-around poignant writing, as revealed again and again here. If fantasy and serious/dramatic/epic fiction isn’t your thing, don’t force it. But that doesn’t mean you can’t write, or should bag an English major.

    So say I.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Sort of, yes. I know novel-writing is definitely not my thing. I don’t enjoy it at all, really. (though idk if I have the humility to actually admit that to myself and like, not do NaNo. *gasp*) =P …(I know, guys. I know. I just said I don’t like writing books. Don’t die. It’ll be ok. *prepares bucket of ice water* don’t pass out.) …And I’m not too good at writing fiction/fantasy-style short stories either (as my failure this summer can attest XD). And I like writing poetry, but I really know nothing about it and can’t just sit down and write it. I have to be inspired. Which doesn’t happen on command. =P Probably because I don’t know anythign about it. XD But I really, really love posting here. This is pretty much the only writing I can do whenever I want, and love it every time. Even though I feel bad sometimes (read: most of the time) because all I’m doing is either complaining or talking about stuff that no one cares about. =P But it’s really fun, and I like taking the things I have to complain about and writing ironically or humorously about them, because then that makes them not nearly so bad in real life. =P Hehe.
      So yea, I have definitely thought about it. Only I don’t think the sort of writing I do here now could be good for anything other than my own amusement and keeping “in touch” with whoever reads my blog. And idk if I could do fictional writing like this. I have never tried it. But the thing that makes it so fun to blog for me, is that it’s ABOUT me. So I already know exactly what I want to say. Because it all happened to me, or it is all what I’m thinking. With fiction, it’s not like that. Another reason I hate noveling ;) haha. But yea, idk…I guess I’ve never tried it. I should experiment.
      Also, the Nonfiction CW class I’ll be taking at school this semester, I am hoping, will be about this sort of writing. A girl I dance with took the class last semester and said it was kind of like writing for a blog…idk what she meant by that, but yea. So I’m really hoping I’ll learn something from it, and maybe actually find a style of writing that is both enjoyable for me and something other people who aren’t close friends or related to me would want to read…XD haha.

      *epic long comment reply ftw*

      Like

      1. joctavianr says:

        See, Anna? Emily agrees with me ; ) And, actually, personal narratives and essays can be quite enjoyable to read even for people who do not know you. You merely need to place something in each piece that either speaks to or relates to a broad range of people. The personal aspect will provide an enjoyable framework.

        Like

      2. AnnaEstelle says:

        Haha. Yea, I guess so. I’m feeling outnumbered and influenced…;) We’ll see what happens. Could be scary.

        Like

      3. mariertps says:

        *reads, reads again, re-reads again* WHOA whoa whoooahhh. O_O You. don’t. like. writing. books? Please tell me I’m sleeping… *passes into the stage of shock* girl, you are killing me. xD

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          *resigned sigh* *gets bucket of ice water* *dumps it on your head* Feel better?
          No. I don’t like noveling. I stink at it, and it’s not fun. It’s forced. I have never in my life sat down to write a novel or something that was supposed to become a novel because I wanted to for my own enjoyment. I’ve only ever done it as a school assignment, or a NaNo challenge. I don’t like writing books. As much as it’s killing me to admit it. =P
          Reading them, on the other hand…

          Like

          1. mariertps says:

            What was that for? ^^ That is so not true. -.- I’m supposed to be the pessimistic, self-deprecating person. xD *humphs*

            Like

            1. AnnaEstelle says:

              It was to revive you from your state of shock…?
              Lol. Idk. I can be pessimistic at times, too. And as for self-deprecating, it’s my middle name. *sticks thumbs behind suspenders and stretches them out* Yup. That’s me. Anna Self-Deprecating Goodling.
              *grins*
              but yes it is too true. =P

              Like

              1. mariertps says:

                Oh. xD Where is the Dr. in that name? =P

                Like

                1. AnnaEstelle says:

                  O_O did you mention the Doctor? Where? Where is he? O___O TARDIS HERE I COME. K g2g bai. *runs away looking for blue things*

                  Like

                2. mariertps says:

                  I should have kept my mouth shut. :P That is the reaction I would have if you said someone I know from TPS is in the region. x)

                  Like

                3. AnnaEstelle says:

                  Same. Although it involves a lot more screaming when that is the case. Sadly, that has only happened once. Best week of my life, right there.

                  Like

                4. mariertps says:

                  I’d probably start glowing like the One Ring. WEEK? I’m so jealous. *bawls* I had one tiny little chance to go visit Julie and Rebekah, and I blew it. Props to track season and my conscience.

                  Like

  2. Lulu says:

    What I read:
    Doggies rant rant rant own house rant rant rant rant rantttttttt rant rant rant my own car rant rant gas rant rant rant college rannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt rant rant privacy rant rant rant college rant rant rant school rannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnntttttttttttttttttttttttttttt rant rant rant rant rant.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hey. No one’s got a gun at your head. It’s not like you have to read my blog. If you take issue with me ranting, you’re in the wrong place. It’s my blog. Thus my space to rant all I like.
      However, this post wasn’t a rant. It was merely a commentary. On myself. Where I currently stand in relation to school, work, house-sitting, and my summer plans. Which, by the by, have so far been total failures. My bad.*shrug*

      Like

    2. Way to be supportive, Luke.

      Like

    3. juliel1tps says:

      You forgot the chocolate.

      Like

  3. joctavianr says:

    Btw, I am so happy for you. You have finally found Country music. *wipes away tear* My DLF is growing up.

    Like

    1. No! Anna, my sidekick! Don’t go over to the dark side!!!! ;) Say “no” to country =P

      Like

    2. AnnaEstelle says:

      @ Justin: *grins* yea, and Daddy turned on the Country music station when we were all rifding in the car together today, and I started singing along to all the songs, and Em and Daddy were like…What happened to anna. XD It was epic.

      @ Coartney: I thowwy. Don’t be mad, evil-genius-mastermind-hero-villain O_O butbutbut when you’re living for three weeks in a house that’s not yours, all alone, you kind of have to find something to make the solitude bearable. And country music is fun. And funny. XD and easy to sing along to. And there’s lots of it…o_O the one thing I don’t understand, though, is why it’s all about the country down south or out west. Like, where’s the Vermonter country music?? Where’s New England? There’s country here! Why is it all sweat tea and southern belles on tractors, or out-west-mountains and flyover states? -_- Lame.

      Like

      1. joctavianr says:

        Because people in VT are hillbilly, not country. There’s a difference. ; )

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          I’m offended.

          IT IS TOO THE COUNTRY!! -_- and it ain’t hills, it’s mountains. -_- Hmph. *turns off country music* bunch of losers. *turns back on radio*

          Like

Thoughts?

