Writing and things

Thunder rent the skies, the dark clouds pouring their waters out above Viridis, a small farming town nestled in a valley between the high mountain ranges that sprang up in great ridges, scoring the land like marks from some ancient beast’s claws. Rhea looked up and frowned at the looming dark. Rain again. There had already been far too much of it that spring. Brushing her wet hair from her face, she pulled her skirt clear of the mud and began to run. Her bare feet splashed through the puddles on the cobbled streets, splattering her legs and the hem of her skirt. By the time she reached the Inn again, Rhea was laughing…

…Though Viridis itself was mainly a quiet town, with very little bustle and excitement beyond the weekly market scuffle, many of the other surrounding towns saw more interesting folk. On returning from his last trip out, Sol had brought stories of sprites and elves moving suddenly in to the land around Cassaven, and fairies in the forests on the mountain foothills. The Merfolk from whom Sol purchased fish, though as reserved and mysterious as ever, had been muttering in their illusive tongue words of change…

 

That was a teaser.

I’m working on a story. I know I’ve complained to several of you that I seem to have completely lost what writing skill I may have had. Which is why I’m posting this. =P I repeat my plea for editors and/or critiquers again: I’ll post the story here once it’s done, and welcome any and all critiques or suggestions or helpful ideas. Actually, I kind of sort of am begging you for them…hehe. I probably won’t finish the story for a while yet – I’ve only got two pages written. But I’m starting to feel a little better about it now, and the ideas are starting to flow again…slowly and painfully, but it’s better than nothing. =P Mainly right now I’m just trying to pretend my writing doesn’t sound as horrible as it does and keep pressing through it anyway. Oh the pain. Someone shoot my inner editor. =P

So yea – I’m hoping for a 20-ish page story when I’m done. 18 more to go. Ha. Feel free to bug me and tell me to write. Please.

 

Also, I gave in and colored Justin’s Smoke Faerie. When I should have been writing. Hehe. *guilt* =P But I like. And it was fun. And now she (it? i dun even know) looks sweet. Although it really doesn’t because I no haz photosop and I didn’t play around with shading. Too hard to do that well with GIMP, sadly…but ideally, I would put shading/shadows where they belong. And I envision them being kind of faintly reddish. *nods* Like she’s almost burning up from inside.

smokefaeriefinishedcolorYea.

she kinda looks like a female Ringwraith crossed with a Valkyrie, to me. For some reason.

and I’m also starting to wonder how she lives without hands. How does she even like, feed herself. …unless she’s a vampire ringwraith valkyrie. O_O …dang…

 

And I decided I should have been British. Microsoft Word says “ploughing” isn’t a word. -___- And “culture” is an incredibly fun word to say with a British accent…

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Bessie Lark says:

    I would read it (of course)! =)

    Like

    1. juliel1tps says:

      Same here!

      Like

  2. grannyandpoppy says:

    More, more, I want more!

    Like

  3. Lalaithiel says:

    I’d love to read and critique it, although I’m not that good at critiquing.

    Like

  4. Shanda says:

    Jonathan would be more than honored to edit and critique your book as long as you’d return the favor and at least read his when he’s finished with it. He’s going for something a little longer than 20 pages though, so just be prepared. :)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Ooooo, really? =D That would be awesome. Hehe, I would be more than honored to read Jonathan’s book when he’s done. I can’t say I’m that good at critique or editing help (thus the reason I’m begging for help with my own work), but I can do my best, and I would love to read it, no matter the length. =)

      Like

  5. Lulu says:

    Huh, thats weird. My writing sounds absolutely horrible and I don’t give to farts about it and just write regardless.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      This is the epitome of profundity.

      Like

      1. joctavianr says:

        Great elbows of Zeus! We have found a modern oracle of wisdom the likes of which was never dreampt in Homer’s wildest tales! Magnifique! Amor! My good fellow, you have astounded me. You are, undoubtedly, the greatest thing since teatime! The depth, the coarse, sheer, rugged prose! The stylistic impression of illiteracy cloaked in satirical nonchalance! I love it!

        Like

      2. AnnaEstelle says:

        *chokes* …see Justin. You still have some work to do on him. XD

        Like

      3. AnnaEstelle says:

        …and fyi, you had me almost literally rolling on the floor laughing with that comment. *dies* hahaha XD yea, you need to come visit over Christmas. =P

        Like

      4. Bessie Lark says:

        WordPress should make some way to “like” comments. :)

        Like

Thoughts?

