Well this is a whole new side of Anna that normally doesn’t exist…

Remember the pictures I posted of our slaughter day? Yea?

Well guess what I did for nine hours straight at work today.

I don’t ever want to see another chicken again.

 

But it was fun, really. I mean, you’re standing there looking at this dead, feather-less chicken, and you’re like. I can either gross out over this and make a squeamish idiot of myself in front of my boss and coworkers, or I can grab this sucker in one hand and a knife in the other and set to like I own the place. It’s a chicken. What’s more, it’s dead. What’s it gonna do, moisturize me?

Yea. So I got to cut off the feet (this was the funnest part. They twitch). And I got to cut off the heads too, which was by far the least fun part.

I also got to haul the birds back and forth between buckets of water once they were cleaned out, and hose them off. That was fun because I was so totally in charge of the hose. *evil laughter* …not that I would ever aim it at my boss or anything…Nu-uh. O=)

And then at the end I got to prep the cleaned birds for bagging. That was really cool, because one of the ones I got still had most of the organs inside because it somehow got missed in the first part, so I got to fish out the heart and lungs and trachea, and something else that I don’t know what it was. That was really interesting. …except it took me like ten minutes. You wouldn’t think everything would be so well attached…o_O hehe =P I want a lesson, the next time they slaughter, on what the different organs are, and which ones they eat, and how you remove them the most efficiently. Although I’m not totally sure I want to be the one reaching in there and pulling them out…=P

anyhow. that was work today. gotta love farming.

 

But in case you were wondering, yes, they did end up moisturizing me. Chicken fat is…one of the strangest (grossest?) substances I have come across yet. o_O

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Um, can I just say….EWWWWW!!! =P You have my respect. I could not do that…just, could not.

    Like

  2. juliel1tps says:

    *grins* Sounds…. chickeny. xD

    Like

  3. taethiel says:

    Lovely.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Isn’t it? *cough* …O_o ;)

      Like

Thoughts?

