College Fashion 101 {part one}

…not that I know ANYTHING about fashion. I still don’t know how to tell if colors go together. That’s why I wear black shirts so much…everything goes with black. *grin*

But anyhow. Sister Dearest suggested this…so blame her. ;) I sent Emily a picture of me sporting the latest ingenious (if I do say so myself) idea that came into my head late at night after watching too much Doctor Who all weekend. So she suggested I do a post on Things To Do With Silk Scarves (And Your Hair) While At College. Ta-dah. Excuse the horribly lame pictures. My roomie is MIA and I’m trying to take pictures of myself for some of these. And failing. =P

I’m going to do this in several posts. So stay tuned.

I feel so weird doing this…O_o Anyhow.

 

Thing 1: Bowties.
bowtie2

Made out of silk scarves. Very fashionable. I wore a pink-and-purple (mostly purple. you know me.) silk-scarf-bowtie on Thursday in honor of valentines. *points up…and down*

bowtie1

And yea, I cut my face out. *cough* YOU try aiming a camera at a mirror and still getting your whole face WHILE keeping the picture at least mostly in focus! -_-

bowtie3

I actually got several compliments on this…which was kind of weird. Like, people actually noticed me. O_o imagine. I must do this more often. Hehe ;)

The instructions: Click here.

When you’re tying it, the end that is longer when you start out really doesn’t need to be very much longer. Only like an inch or two. Once you’ve tied the first knot (before you make the first bow loop thing), the ends should be about the same length.  And yes…”bowties are COOL.” *wide grin* <3

 

You can also just do a normal tie. Less unique but still epic.

tie3

Man, was this a lot harder to photograph, though. -_- Evil. *points down* my frustrated attempts at getting a picture of it which was in focus and not covered with the camera and not like chopped off in the middle. I finally gave up. XD

tie1   tie2

Just tie it the way you would a normal tie. …it’s good practice for us girls out there because one day we may have to teach our husbands…*coughhh* 0=)

The instructions: Click here.

To make it thicker and more epic, you can do it with two or three different colored scarves at once (provided you have two or three scarves that go with each other AND with the shirt you are wearing…I don’t, really…=P). I like to do it with my bigger shawl-type scarves, actually. And with this, the side that is longer at the beginning has to be like…a LOT longer. Longer than you think it should be. Else it gets really lopsided. =P

And yay. Next perhaps I’ll do something about hair. But…I need my roomie’s help for that. I really can’t photograph the back of my head. It’s hard enough to get your head in a mirror shot when you are FACING the mirror…but when you have to have your back to it…forget it. XD

8 Comments Add yours

  1. vtgrandview says:

    What a Cutie…………………..

    Like

  2. Lulu says:

    *dies from overdose of mirror shots AND selfies*

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hey man. I COULDN’T HELP IT. Besides, I cut my “selfie” out of 99% of them…I had to take like eighteen billion pictures just to get three semi-decent ones. -_- And the subject of the photos isn’t me. It’s the scarf…-_- hehehe =P

      Like

  3. I love how if you try to type “how to tie a bowtie…” into youtube it automatically wants to add “…like Dr. Who.”

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      WHAT REALLY. I LOVE YOUTUBE. I promise that wasn’t me…*cough* XD

      Like

    2. taethiel says:

      Hahaha. That’s epic.

      Hey. Bowties are cool. …*cough* 0=) =D

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        Um, yes they are. Thus the reason why I think a bowtie will soon become the most common article of my wardrobe. …I need more silk scarves…like in colors that actually GO WITH MY CLOTHES. …or maybe I just need new clothes. 0_0

        Like

Thoughts?

