my heart

They say that home is where the heart is…mine’s hidden far beneath a range of Green Mountains, waiting for me to come back. I wonder, do you ever get over your first home? Or does it always stay, a bit of your heart left there forever, no matter where you move off to? I hope it does.

I don’t know if you can see
The changes that have come over me
In these last few days I’ve been afraid
That I might drift away
I’ve been telling old stories, singing songs
That make me think about where I’ve come from
That’s the reason why I seem
So far away today

Let me tell you that I love you
That I think about you all the time
Caledonia, you’re calling me, now I’m going home
But if I should become a stranger
Know that it would make me more than sad
Caledonia’s been everything I’ve ever had

Thoughts?

