*sigh*

I think I’d like to be Elinor Dashwood, Fanny Price, or Elizabeth Bennet…I might even settle for Anne Elliot or mayyybe Emma Woodhouse, though she drives me crazy, if Elinor or Fanny or Lizzy didn’t work out.

 

It’s the week before Finals. I.e. it’s the week of all my dance exams. I have French words to memorize both the meanings and the spellings of (stupid written ballet exams >_< WHO DOES THAT??), dance sequences to memorize and prepare talking points for (oral dance exams are worse than written ones. Why?!? Does it make ANY logical sense to you?? Because I’m not seein’ it), fifty four modules of Psychology to re-learn by Sunday so I can spout them all out again on Monday, a virtual art museum tour to finish creating and a group paper to complete (writing a paper as a group. My paragraphs will have no be verbs. The other paragraphs will look like a third grader wrote them. So cohesive. </sarcasm>), a presentation to give, and another Pointe class to live through while preferably retaining my feet in one piece. …As you can probably gather, busy is a slight understatement for my life at the moment. ;) *crazed grin*

…So what do I do? I start reading Mansfield Park. You know, the nice thick book? The one that I have been wanting to read all semester, but haven’t started yet because it’s so big and I don’t have time? That one? …somehow…I magically have time all of the sudden during Finals…? Make sense? Oh, totally.

Or maybe my Psych professor was on to something when she told us that while she was in college, she couldn’t survive without a novel. Without someone else’s life to live when hers got too crazy. <3

 

Jane Austen, I love you. I’m sorry I ever doubted your writing…it’s just that Pride and Prejudice wasn’t as good as I expected it to be, and Northanger Abbey was a horrid choice to read next. Emma wasn’t the best either, but your ending made up for it. Persuasion was much better, though it was too short. But Sense and Sensibility was so perfect, and Mansfield Park, so far, is beautiful. I promise I’ll never be unhappy with you again, even if your other books aren’t any good at all. Sense and Sensibility and Mansfield Park will make up for it. I promise.

In other words, it’s 10:17 at night and I’m really tired and have been ready for bed since 8:00, but I can’t go to bed until at LEAST 10:30 without everyone in my dorm thinking I’m…well…stranger than they already think I am. I tried to go to bed at 10:00 one night…my room mate looked at me like I was insane when I told her I was getting ready for bed and it was only 9:55. So I’ve been reading Jane Austen and listening to Enya simultaneously for the past two hours, trying to pass the time between the hour when Anna’s brain is melted with French and no longer can function on school and the hour when Anna can go to bed without being judged. …not that she’ll sleep when she goes to be. because everyone sits outside her door and makes as much noise as they possibly can until past midnight. but it’s the thought that counts, right?

 

 

 

 

…You know the one thing I do hate about all your books so far, though, Jane? They all have happy endings.

 

 

…I suppose there’s something to be said for Emily Bronte. *shrugs*

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Tiberius Shift says:

    So………….college sounds like a lot of fun. =P

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      It actually really is. Just not during exams…;)

      Like

  2. Bessie Lark says:

    o_O You…LIKE Mansfield Park? That was the only Jane Austen I’ve read that I disliked. Fanny is soooo annoyingly weak! I just wanted to smack her sometimes and scold her and make her stand up for herself. Ugh.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hehehe. I’ve only read to chapter ten so far, but yes, I really like it. And *coughs* Fanny reminds me of myself. …-_- *glares at you* thanks a lot. -_-
      Hehehehehe *flees* =P =P =P

      Like

  3. vtgrandview says:

    ” Does it make ANY logical sense to you??”

    Discipline my dear….discipline.

    Like

  4. Emily says:

    You really have to get over the going-to-bed early thing. Eventually the giggling hallmates accept your oddities and leave you alone, especially when they are dragging on the floor come finals week and you are bright-eyed and well-rested. A well-placed “EAT IT!” at such a time is generally effective. :)
    Seriously, 8 hours of sleep/night and consistent bedtimes is what is getting me though college….
    ;)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      ROL!! A well placed “eat it” XD oh yea. =P
      Yea. Well. No matter what time I go to bed, everyone gathers in the cluster at about 11:00 and makes lots of loud noises, mostly consisting of crazed laughter…so. Either I can’t fall asleep or I get woken up and then don’t fall asleep again…XD So going to bed early is pretty much useless…-_- the one bad thing about clusters vs. halls… XD

      Like

Thoughts?

