~Gerard Manley Hopkins

God’s Grandeur

THE WORLD is charged with the grandeur of God.
It will flame out, like shining from shook foil;
It gathers to a greatness, like the ooze of oil
Crushed. Why do men then now not reck his rod?
Generations have trod, have trod, have trod;
And all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil;
And wears man’s smudge and shares man’s smell: the soil
Is bare now, nor can foot feel, being shod.

And for all this, nature is never spent;
There lives the dearest freshness deep down things;
And though the last lights off the black West went
Oh, morning, at the brown brink eastward, springs—
Because the Holy Ghost over the bent
World broods with warm breast and with ah! bright wings.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. You are such a good Hillsdaleian. :)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hehe =P I know. I aspire to be awesome like you guys over there…;)
      The off-campus church I go to Sunday mornings just got a new pastor, who graduated from the Seminary here. Last sunday was his first time really preaching there. He used the first lines of this poem as part of his sermon, and it made me happy and it made me think of you. =D And it reminded me of how awesome Hopkins is. And it reminded me of all those late-night impromptu poetry readings at home…<3

      Like

  2. Bessie Lark says:

    This was in the front of my geography/history text last year! Cool.
    *wonders why you posted this* *wonders what Emily means* :)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      *points to above post* ;)

      Like

    2. Bessie, a good percentage of Hillsdale College students have that poem memorized, and recite it aloud at any given opportunity. Hopkins is a campus favorite, all around–that’s where I heard of him. : ) This one is also beautiful, and I just heard it recited last night:

      Margaret, are you grieving
      Over Goldengrove unleaving?
      Leaves, like the things of man, you
      With your fresh thoughts care for, can you?
      Ah! as the heart grows older
      It will come to such sights colder
      By and by, nor spare a sigh
      Though worlds of wanwood leafmeal lie;
      And yet you wíll weep and know why.
      Now no matter, child, the name:
      Sorrow’s springs are the same.
      Nor mouth had, no nor mind, expressed
      What héart héard of, ghóst guéssed:
      It is the blight man was born for,
      It is Margaret you mourn for.

      Like

      1. Bessie Lark says:

        Ah, I see. Okay, I’ve heard the first two lines of that one.
        *is curious* My real name is Grace. Has Anna ever mentioned me to you? :)

        Like

      2. AnnaEstelle says:

        *shivers* that one always makes me sad…

        and on another note, Em, I just watched dANCEpROjECT (a small dance company here) perform for one of my class assignments. The last piece they did you would have loved. It was on Goethe’s “Erlkonig,” and it was spectacular. The “music” for the piece was mostly a man reading the poem out loud in German. So haunting. And the rest of the music was like…the operatically-sung version of the poem, which I know you’ve shown me before, and some other Jonas-Kauffman-esque pieces (I recognized a few of them from all the Lieder you listen to/drive me crazy with…;) haha =P), interspersed with either a bunch of different voices talking quietly but confusedly in German, or like birdsong and nature sounds. It was amazing. The dance kind of went with the story that’s in the poem, and it was so freakishly amazing and scary and epic. <3 The guy who was the Elfking – he reminded me of a cross between Gollum and some incredibly evil sprite. XD hehe. And then there were three girls who were the daughters, and one guy who was the son who dies. It was cool, because the Elfking and his daughters kept switching from like a business-man suit and vest and stuff to really interesting Elfish costumes. And they had different movements that went with each costume set. When he was in his Elf costume, the Elfking had a hat with a crown on it…and then at the very end, the stage went black for a second and the voiceover guy read the last stanza of the poem…and when the lights came up, the Son was wearing the Elfking's hat, and repeating the Elfish movements that the Elfking had just been doing. So. So. Cool. It was awesome. You would have loved it. *grins*

        Like

      3. AnnaEstelle says:

        Lol, Grace. I really have no idea…I’m sure Em has heard me talk about you at some time or other…probably…Haha XD …*grins* I always forget she can’t stalk me on TPS anymore…well she can, but she doesn’t. *cough* XD Lol =D

        …And I want more poetry books. I miss having all my books with me so much XD

        Like

  3. All these people who post without using their real name confuse me. I can’t keep them all straight. : ) But hello Bessie/Grace.

    But Anna, that sounds totally awesome!!! I wish I had been there! Coooollll. Did they actually use the music from the Schubert Lied version?

    It rocks. And do does Dietrich Fischer Dieskau, who sings that one. ^
    I wish there was a video of that performance, though…..

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      It was So. Amazing. Hehe =P
      And…*listens to song* Yes, they did. =D But the guy who was singing it did like different voices kind of for the son/father/elfking. The Elfking was freaky sounding. =P Hehe.
      They also used another song that you listen to and drove me crazy with…another Lieder song…gah, I can’t think of the tune now. Not that that would help, because I can’t type a tune into my comment, but…XD hehe =P And there was one with a lady singing, which may or may not have been the same song. Haha. But yea. It was TOTALLY epic. They’re doing it again next Saturday at 2:00 for free…if you wanna stop by…*grins* ;) They also perform in the evenings the rest of this weekend and all next weekend. Buit it’s only free on Saturday afternoons. …which stinks, because they do a longer program in the evenings, with two (*gasp*) intermissions. It’s only $5.00 with a student ID, but…it’s going to cost me five dollars to go see Sweeny Todd when they perform that, and I like don’t have any money XD …I might talk myself into going some night next weekend, though…because I wanna seeee it allllll…Hmph. -_- Free things are better. =P

      Like

Thoughts?

