Tess

…Wanted you to know that Tess died around 10:30 this morning. We had the vet come out to the house…All night I dreaded today, thinking how can this dog possibly make it through another day?
…She went outside and sat on our front steps just trembling. I went out and covered her with my coat and let her sit with me with her head in my lap. After a while, I asked her how she wanted to spend her last day-it was as if she was not sick at all. Her ears pricked up and she ran and got her toy to play fetch. We spent the morning playing fetch and then we all took her for a walk in the woods, which we had done many times before. She seemed totally fine, happy, and with amazing energy.
…The vet was here and began to inject the medication into her. Tess looked up at me and I could hear her say, “no, not yet.” Her eyes were so sad, so frightened looking. It was heart wrenching to see. But I know she could not have continued the way she was. And surely, as smart as she was, she must have known too. I just pray she understood that.
We all dug a grave next to her favorite hiding spot in the side yard. We laid her bed from her crate in the bottom and put all her toys around her. So sad. I miss her already….it seems too quiet here.
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Bessie Lark says:

    *hugs Anna and never lets go* Praying for all you Goodlings today.

    Like

  2. Chuck says:

    That was a dawg like non other before her, or after. She never wanted to do anything other than help us around the farm…….and have fun! Her family loved her, and complete strangers who only knew her for an afternoon loved her. Life on the farm will go on, but she will stay the same “good ol’ dawg”.

    Like

    1. eruthaedur says:

      I will miss that dog..she was a good companion when I was there.

      Like

  3. Tiberius Shift says:

    I’ll be praying for you guys.

    Like

  4. checking message ability

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hey Granny and Poppy. =)
      You can comment on here…I just had to approve your first one. Which I just did. So now you’re good to go.

      Like

  5. jacobt2i says:

    I just saw this, and I wanted to let you know that I’m praying for you guys.

    Like

Thoughts?

