A Senior Piece?

The Stowe Dance Academy puts together a “Senior Piece” every year. The main dancers are (obviously) the seniors at the Academy that year, with a corps of the other older girls, and sometimes the younger students too. I usually opt out of it because one, I always somehow don’t ever get emails with that rehearsal schedule, and two, I’m not a senior and she has plenty of other girls to choose from for supporting dancers.

…but this year I AM a senior…

Darn.

So needless to say, I have to be in the piece. And I DID get the emails with a schedule. Phooey. …The fact that it is always done at the very end of the show, so I won’t get out of the theater until 9:30 or 10:00 on performance nights, meaning I won’t get home until after midnight, is not an added bonus.

But I love the theater, and I have books and drawing, so it will be alright…With the exception of the extra rehearsals on FRIDAY NIGHTS (my one night of the week that I don’t have dance -_-) and Saturday/Sunday afternoons (bye bye weekends). Hmph.

I don’t know what song the senior piece will be to this year. I wish we could do it to this one *points down* because it is pretty and has nice lyrics that would go with a Senior Piece. *thanks my Pointe teacher for deciding to do a class using all fun music [i.e. not classical] and playing this song, which I consequently really like* …but I have less than no say in the matter.

And plus…I have a feeling it will be THIS song *points down* because two of the other seniors are obsessed with Coldplay, particularly this song. Darn again. -_- =P I’m not really a Coldplay fan (well, some of there songs are actually really good. And this one is not bad. But not as cool as the other one *points up*). …And this video freaks me out. O_o

…A few years ago, they did the Senior Piece to Once When I Was Little, by James Morrison. THAT was the best one I have seen yet, and the song was PERFECT. <3 You should look it up. …And the one girl I actually liked and who actually talked to me and who didn’t think I was weird graduated that year too, so that made it more sad. *sniffle*

 

 

Yay for being a senior. You know, if I don’t collapse in a sniveling blob of jello when my last show (LAST SHOW O_O …*cries*) with Stowe ends, it will be a miracle. To those of you who may or may not be at my house then: I apologize in advance. Don’t mind me. =P

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Why so Jelly? says:

    Dude Coldplay would be really fitting.
    I <3s them

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Yea. Coldplay would be alright. But not as fitting as the other song.
      …and the fact that Rachel and Cara are like OBSESSED with Paradise just makes me burst out laughing whenever I think of it…XD heh. =P The other song would be WAY better for an emotional last dance. Totally. Paradise is too rocking. Not conducive to emotional-ness.

      Like

  2. I like the first one too. And Paradise?? For a senior dance??? Really????
    You will just have to try really hard to lobby for the other one. :)

    Like

  3. Yeah, I like the first one….not that I have anything against Coldplay. But Paradise?? Really??? For a senior dance??

    Like

  4. AnnaEstelle says:

    I love how you ALWAYS post your comment twice, Em…=P Haha. I’m going to start approving both of them, and you can just repeat yourself and my blog will get more comments…*grins* =P

    And yea, I agree. I don’t have anything against Coldplay (except that Every. Single. Song. on the 1st CD of theirs that Luke got had either a super repetitive tune or a really really depressing tune…XD). But…I don’t like that song for a senior piece. -_-

    If anyone else has song suggestions for the piece, I wanna hear them. Not that anyone will listen to my opinion (two to one. …although I MIGHT be able to get the other girl to agree with me, in which case it would be two to two. …O_o). But still. =P

    Like

    1. Well phooey, that’s because it always gives me an error message when I try to post the first one. Stinker.
      My favorite go-get-’em-live-your-life-we-rock-chase-your-dream-type of songs are probably Lady Gaga’s The Edge of Glory and Don Quixote’s Dream the Impossible Dream. As sung by Rolando Villazon, of course. ;)
      I think you should just be super loud/convincing about why the other song is better.

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        Hahahahaha. That’s epic. XD
        Oh yes. Lady Gaga. Can’t forget her. *barfs* …Jk. =P I DO like that song. She just has a bad reputation, and I have never heard anything else by her to judge if she is barf-worthy or not…*grins* =P
        Emily. I HIGHLY doubt I’ll be able to convince the Stowe girls to go with a song sung by an OPERA singer, of all people…amazing as that is. <3 =P
        Haha. Helena probably already HAS a song chosen. But if she asks our opinion, I definitely will. =D

        Like

  5. Well, she DOES have really good voice, when it isn’t over processed. And she plays the piano. When she isn’t being totally scandalous, I really like her.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Rofl!! When she’s not being totally scandalous, huh? =P XD

      Like

      1. Yeah, don’t watch any of her music videos.

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Wasn’t planning on it. =P

          Like

  6. eruthaedur says:

    WHEN..she isn’t being scandalous…? *wonders if there actually IS such a time..* =P

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      ROFL!! Hahaha…XD

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        …Josiah wonders if there is ever a time when she isn’t being scandalous…

        …Anna wonders if there is ever a time when she’s not wearing a wig…

        *cough* =P

        Like

        1. Luke says:

          Just so you know, Lady Gaga is trash. I can’t believe my two sisters are bringing them selves down to that level. Very surprising.

          Like

          1. AnnaEstelle says:

            Lol. Me and Em actually just had a very interesting convo about Lady Gaga and art. I don’t think she’s trash. I think she’s genius. =P And I think the whole Lady Gaga thing is really really sad…that she’s making herself art. And making fun of art at the same time. Like, think about it. Art has no friends. No personality. No family. And then what is she trying to do? Be art.
            She is a singer. She has a good voice. Singers with good voices are nice to listen to. The lyrics of one of her songs are epic. (The rest I can’t vouch for, since I have only ever heard the one XD haha.) Therefore, I like the song. Doesn’t mean I agree with her philosophy. Doesn’t mean I like Lady Gaga as a person (not that I know her, or anything. XD) It just means I think she has a good voice, I like the lyrics to one of her songs, and so I listen to it. Lady Gaga may or may not be trash. I really don’t care. the Edge of Glory is an epic song. Regardless of her debated trashiness, I like it. SO HA! hehehe =P

            Besides. I find it sad that a certain young man I know is obsessed with Taylor Swift. I can’t believe he is bringing himself down to that level. Very surprising. *grins*

            Like

  7. eruthaedur says:

    you mean her works are trash? she IS a human being albeit a very morally depraved one, but so were we before Christ saved us..
    I don’t like the idea of supporting her or her music or her ideals either though Luke.

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I have no idea what her morals or ideals are. And I don’t want to know XD haha. But, it IS quite possible to enjoy listening to someone with a good voice sing a song with inspiring lyrics without having to agree with the singer or like who she is as a person. There’s a difference between enjoying music and supporting ideals. *grins*

      …and I also think it is sad that people can’t appreciate a song, a set of lyrics, a voice, whatever, without others automatically assuming they agree with/support the singer themselves. Not saying that you are doing that, Eru. Just making a passing comment. I know I’m guilty of it =P
      Really. If I stand up in a crowded room and say that I love Lady Gaga’s voice, what impression will that give of me? No one in the room knows I have only heard one of her songs. No one knows if I agree with her morals or not. All they know is that I like her voice. And still, some of them will freak out and think they’ve found another fellow fan, and the rest will censor me a a hopeless case with no morals, no taste, and no shame. And all I would have said is that I like her voice. WHAT IS UP WITH THAT??? …*cough* *ends rant* hehehe =P

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        Plus, Edge of Glory will always make me think of Em (not to mention Em dancing around the kitchen to it…but we shan’t mention that…*evil grin*). And so therefore, that makes the song even more epic. <3

        Like

        1. Ha, ok I am officially staying out of this one. All I’m going to say is that art can be shocking. Some art SHOULD provoke us, revolt us. That’s ok. We don’t have to agree with it, but we can love it none the less. Not that I *love* Lady Gaga. But I love Wagner, Nietzsche, Shakespeare–in my opinion, all great artists that can be just as horrifying as Lady Gaga.
          Also, for all of you, here is a NON-SHOCKING, G-rated video of her, singing old-time jazz, absolutely wonderfully: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPAmDULCVrU

          Ok that’s all. :)

          Like

          1. AnnaEstelle says:

            Hehehe =P Staying out of it? …but you STARTED it…*coughs* *grins* *runs* I CAN’T WAIT UNTIL YOU COME HOME. We can dance in the kitchen to Lady Gaga again. *grins* *plays it again for the fifty-seventh time in a row* Oh yeah.

            As for the shocking art thing: Agreed. That like…is the entire POINT of some art genres. I personally don’t like a lot of that sort of art…since it is like way over my head, a lot of it. =P But still. It’s still art. And yea…if you don’t like shocking things, forget Shakespeare…*cough* =P And yet, Anna loves Shakespeare. Especially Hamlet. Which is really quite shocking, if you think about it. Hamlet is, not the fact that Anna likes Hamlet. =P

            Like

  8. AnnaEstelle says:

    “you mean her works are trash? she IS a human being albeit a very morally depraved one, but so were we before Christ saved us..”

    …I have one more thing to say about this. *cough* =P Hehe. I like debating with people I agree with! …it makes it hard to lose…*grins* =P Heh. Anyway.

    “she IS a human being albeit a very morally depraved one, but so were we before Christ saved us..”
    And now that Christ HAS saved us, we’re better than her? I think there is absolutely no difference between me, you, and Lady Gaga in terms of moral depravity. Our sinful human nature is EXACTLY the same as hers. The only difference between us and her is NOT us. It’s Christ. I am just as sinful as her. I am just as depraved, just as morally-off. The difference is that Christ has washed my sin away in God’s eyes. It’s still THERE. I still sinned, and do sin. The fact that Christ saved me does NOT mean I’m perfect. It does not mean I am ANY less sinful than I was before. It just means that He is interceding for me before God’s throne, and all the blame for my sins if being put on His shoulders, not mine. That’s the only difference. I don’t think we should use Christ’s salvation to mean that all of the sudden…we are “better than” people like Lady Gaga. Or less depraved, or more morally-correct, or whatever. Yes. She is a very morally-depraved human being. And yes, so were we before Christ saved us. But you left out the most important phrase: We. Still. Are. We still are morally depraved, not to mention everything-else-depraved. The only difference between us and her, in terms of depravity, is found in Christ. Not us.
    So, who are we to judge her? That’s not our job. And it’s really hypocritical =P

    Ok that was really fun. I’ll be quiet now. =# hehehe =P
    And I have a feeling we most likely agree on this topic, Eru…=P

    Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        \m/ ^_^ \m/

        …=P

        Like

      2. Luke says:

        Number one:
        Woah woah woah. This is art? Er…its music last time i checked, just because she wares dresses out of raw meat does not mean that she is making art. (and yes i know your going to say music is art, but i disagree with that)
        Number two:
        Her morals are whacked, and i believe most of her songs portray that. Just because one song its fine and has a good tune doesn’t mean we should have a love fest.
        Number three:
        Do we really have to sway to that side? I’m talking about the music, not about her personality, her religion, and all that other stuff. The comment about her being trash was not about her personally but about her music, lyrics, and such and such. I can’t judge her because i’ve never met, but i can judge her music from an occasional song i hear. Although i’m sure she’s worn a dress made out of trash before.

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Ok. So what IS music, if it is not an art form?

          Who said anything about a love fest? (and fyi, I LEARNED about love fests in history not too long ago. If I were you, I would choose a different phrase there…else I’ll start calling you a flower child…*cough*) All I said was I like her voice, and I like the lyrics to that song. I said NOTHING about her other music. OR her morals. They never even entered my head. =P

          …*cough*…ok. What do you dislike about being “on the edge of glory, hanging on a moment of truth”? I think the lyrics to Edge of Glory are decent. The verses are not as good as the chorus. But that is how it is with a lot of music, imo XD Also…I could be making these EXACT same arguments back at you about Nightwish. Jussayin’. I listen to Edge of Glory for the same reason I listen to Amaranth and Wanderlust: The lyrics are interesting, and it is an extremely motivating/adrenaline-inducing song. As Em would agree, it’s PERFECT for listening to before taking an exam ;) Or while working on a really tedious presentation.
          So, before you make any more comments about Lady Gaga, think of Nightwish…and consider if the comment you were going to say could be translated towards them as well. …Or is this just prejudice and personal opinion here?
          *grins* And yea, about the dress made of trash. I bet she did. XD …Weird. O_o

          Like

  9. eruthaedur says:

    Anna what does sanctification mean?

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I have no idea what the correct and proper definition is. =P *goes to look it up* I’ll get back to you. =P

      Like

    2. AnnaEstelle says:

      Without spending two days reading all the deep intellectual websites I came across, here’s my response. I have no idea how theologically sound I’m being. Probably like, not at all. Haha. Theology is really really hard for me to debate. Because I know so little. But. Whatever. *tries best, and puts out her own personal opinion*

      Ok. The first definition that came up on google said sanctification was a religious ceremony where something was made holy. So going from the definition of Sanctified meaning made holy:
      …does that mean we’re perfect because we’re Christian? We can’t sin anymore because we are holy? I disagree. And I really kind of hope you do too O_o hehe =P
      So we are sanctified. Meaning we are made holy. Holy is defined as “Dedicated or consecrated to God or a religious purpose.” …so…what? It is definitely possible to be dedicated to God and still sinful. Thank goodness. It is definitely possible to be dedicated to God and not be “better than” people who are not Christian, at least by human definitions.

      Since you didn’t say which part of my post made you ask if I knew the definition of sanctified, this is going to be really…difficult. =P If you meant it for the part about using our salvation to say we are “better than” others, then I suppose, in the sense that we are set apart for God and non-Christians are not, we ARE “better” than them. But I disagree with that way of thinking. If I go around thinking I am better than people, how am I going to witness to them? How can I show people the love of Christ if I am consciously BETTER than they are? It would look like condescension, pride, and hypocrisy. I don’t WANT to be “better than” my peers at the dance academy. I want to be EQUAL with them, on the same level. Because that way, I can talk to them and they can talk to me and we can understand each other. If I went around acting better than people, no one would ever talk to me, and no one would take me seriously when I talked to them. I’ve seen how the girls at my dance talk about people behind their backs, especially girls in their school that are the “smarter” ones, or the “better” ones. If I’m “better than” them, they’d do the same to me. And their “good opinion, once lost, is lost forever,” in the words of Mr. Darcy. =P And besides…doesn’t God call us to be humble? “In humility, consider OTHERS better than yourselves”? Not the other way around. We should not be going around feeling better than others because they aren’t part of the special “Christ-saved-me Club.”

      If you were addressing your remark toward the part about my past sins still having happened, and me still sinning now, then…I would say that there is a difference in being forgiven and in erasing the past. We’re forgiven. Christ’s death was that forgiveness. But the past is still there. If I hit my brother (not that I would EVER do that…*innocent*) and then ask forgiveness, him forgiving me doesn’t mean I never hit him in the first place. I don’t know how God sees this, since I’m not Him. But from my understanding, Christ’s blood COVERS our sins. If it made them as though they had never happened, then what were the sins on His shoulders when He died on the cross? And what is His blood covering? Nothing. We are not, and should not be, weighed down with the guilt of our past sins. But that doesn’t mean the mistakes never happened.

      …did any of that make ANY sense? =P

      Like

      1. Netya Taethiel says:

        WHOA Anna. O_o Wow… that is.. like… the longest comment I have ever seen on a blog. XD

        Like

      2. AnnaEstelle says:

        \m/
        Be in awe of my amazing commenting skills.
        …O_O I wonder if you can break the HTML on here too…oooooooo…=P

        Like

  10. Netya Taethiel says:

    Innocent question: When you break down in uncontrollable sobbing, which do you prefer – for Ashley and I to leave you alone/ignore you until you feel better, or for us to try in some very unsatisfactory way to divert your mind from your misery? =P

    Heyy, it’s an honest question! *cough* Believe me. It’s slightly awkward for friends when you start sobbing and they have no clue what you want them to do… er, so I’ve been told…*headdeskkk *XD =P

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hahahahaha. Wow Rebekah. XD
      I will not be breaking down sobbing in front of anybody…*cough*…I don’t cry in front of people…=P And it definitely doesn’t merit UNCONTROLLABLE sobbing. …Well…alright, so maybe…but not for long…Er, not for TOO long. …maybe…
      Agh. Rebekah, be quiet. You’re making me sad already…I just have two weeks of classes left. ='((

      Like

Thoughts?

