“Chinese Assessment of Western Pre-eminence”

When a group of eighteen American tourists were in Beijing in 2002 on a tour of the landmarks of Western missionary efforts in China, they met with a scholar from the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, the nation’s most prestigious academic institute in the fields of philosophy and social sciences. What the scholar had to say astonished them: ‘One of the things we were asked to look into was what accounted for the success, in fact, the pre-eminence of the West all over the world. We studied everything we could from the historical, political, economic, and cultural perspective. At first, we thought it was because you had the best political system. Next we focused on your economic system. But in the past twenty years, we have realized that the heart of your culture is your religion: Christianity. That is why the West has been so powerful. The Christian moral foundation of social and cultural life was what made possible the emergence of capitalism and then the successful transition to democratic politics. We don’t have any doubt about this.’”

—David Aikman, The Delusion of Disbelief, p. 167-168

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Luke says:

    What does that mean o_o

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …did you even read it…? =P *facepalm*

      Like

  2. Tiberius Shift says:

    Epic Anna. Totally Epic. When I start my blog next year I’m going to compile stuff like this…

    If only more guys like this said stuff like that in public.

    Like

  3. Netya Taethiel says:

    Hmm. That’s really cool.

    …*nudges you* You’re avoiding writing your story… ; ) Once you finish your worldview paper, you should try to get back to that. =)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I know I am. I’m so fed up with that thing. -_- =P

      …once I finish my paper…? What about once I actually START it? *headdesk* …*dies* Don’t remind me. =P

      Like

  4. eruthaedur says:

    haha she doesn’t have the slightest clue of what to do with me=P for once I’m a troublesome character instead of Ashley or Rebekah..=P

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      no…I know EXACTLY what I want to do with you…I just can’t make you do it. -_- *headdesk*

      Like

    2. Netya Taethiel says:

      …for once, Josiah? You’ve always been a troublemaker…=P

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        *Dies. Laughing* *remembers a certain bag of candy and the ensuing court case* …*facepalm* Josiah? Troublemaker? What are you talking about, Rebekah? …*coughhhhh* =P =P =P

        Like

  5. eruthaedur says:

    O_O really? what do you want to do with me?=P

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Lol…ok, so I don’t know what exactly I want to DO with YOU…but I know exactly what I want to have happen. I have the ending all planned out (except for the last bit. But hey, I can’t plan TOO far ahead, or I forget stuff. -_- =P). I just…aghhhhhhhhhhh. *throws something at my book* grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. -___- I hate that I can’t write ittttttt the right wayyyyy. -_- I feel like I’m failing my characters. …Which is kind of bad, since they are all figments of my imagination and not real…0_0 =P

      …Well. They ARE (or were. XD) kind of supposed to be based on you peoples…but. They are all still fictional. …*grins* Because in real life, my hair is SO cooler than Rebekah’s. =)
      *cough*
      …and in real life, I SO should change Netya’s name to Valwiste, Rebekah. I SO. Should do that. XD

      Like

Thoughts?

