Faithful Servant

You called us here before you
From your face I could not hide
I knelt in meekness, waiting
My brothers at my side

You gave us each a gift
Then left us to repay
The kindness you had shown
To grow while you were away

You gave my brothers more
I did not understand
You said that it was right
To give me the lesser hand

“According to your strengths
I give these things to you”
You said as you departed
“May now your strengths show true”

You did not come again
I thought for good you’d left
The gift you gave to me
Weighed heavy as a theft

My brothers grew in greatness
They used their gifts to gain
More than what they had
Twice the glorious vein

But my gift felt so cold
So heavy, and so hard
I did not have the strength
Its bright burden to guard

I did not have the courage
To use it as I must
Although I held the least
The smallest gift of trust

So I hid it far away
I could not bear the sight
Of it, unused and fading
A failure to do right

I forgot its glimmer
Forgot the gift you gave
I did not dare to use it
Dare to become its slave

But now I see you coming
Returning at the last
I thought you’d left forever
I thought your time had past

Yet here you are, my master
Come back to see our work
The work of my strong brothers
And that which I did shirk

They run to meet you, joyful
So glad to see you back
I follow, feigning bravely
The smile that I lack

They offer you the gifts
That you first gave them here
Along with what they gained
Doubled, without peer

“See, we have earned much more
We’ve worked so hard for you
Please take our gifts again
Both the old and new

“You trusted us with much
And we have made you proud
Please, take what we have earned”
My brothers say aloud

Laughing in their joy
You press their gifts away
“No, no, my children, keep them
They are your well-earned pay

“My good and faithful servants!
Well done, you have been strong
You’ve worked well with a few things
I will give you a throng

“Come and share with me
Your master’s happiness
Come and eat with me
And I your lives will bless”

You give them back the gifts
You gave them once before
Along with what they gained
Along with so much more

I watch you from behind
I dare not say a word
I know what I will say
Is not worth being heard

I watch you with my brothers
Hope you do not miss
The one sad, frightened servant
Who yearns to escape this

And yet I hope in vain
You notice I’m not there
You see me hiding, ashamed
You leave my brothers fair

You turn away from them
And the joy upon their brows
You look now down at me
Before your grace I bow

“My lord, I kept it safe”
I say, holding out my gift
“I know that you are shrewd
A hard man in your thrift

“I took that which you gave me
I hid it away in the night
I was afraid of who you are
I wanted to do right

“I did not want to destroy
What you entrusted to me
See, here is what is yours
I return it on bended knee”

As I speak, your features change
From approval and fatherly pride
To a violent disappointment
Anger you do not hide

“You wicked, lazy servant!”
You shout to me in rage
“You scorned the gift I gave you?
You feared your duty’s wage?

“You should have watched your brothers
You should have followed suit
Copied them as they worked
Made their gifts bear fruit

“Take your gift, lazy child
And give it to the rest
They will get your reward
They did what was best

“Whoever has will receive
More than what they hold
Whoever does not will lose
The little they had will be sold

“Worthless servant, get out!
I cast you from my sight
I throw you to the darkness
To gnash your teeth at the night

“Weep and scream my name
I will not hear your voice
You’ll never again see my face
I banish you for your choice”

Now in darkness I lie
Hidden from the sight
Of all that’s fair and good
Of happiness and light

I have earned nothing more
Than hate and eternal pain
Because I was afraid
Of that which I might gain

A worthless, lazy servant
Useless and corrupt
Because I missed the point
My fall was so abrupt

I did not have the strength
To do what I was told
I did not have the courage
A blessing great to hold

I let it pass away
Without trying to save
The beauty that I held
And now I’m death’s cold slave

In my mind, I see my brothers
Alive in joy so great
Their kingdoms green and perfect
I give to them my hate

For there’s no way to return
To what I was before
I am only failure
And there is nothing more

 

 

Matthew 25:14-30
The Parable of the Talents

14 “Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his property to them. 15 To one he gave five talents of money, to another two talents, and to another one talent, each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey. 16 The man who had received the five talents went at once and put his money to work and gained five more. 17 So also, the one with the two talents gained two more. 18 But the man who had received the one talent went off, dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money.

19 “After a long time the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them. 20 The man who had received the five talents brought the other five. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with five talents. See, I have gained five more.’

21 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

22 “The man with the two talents also came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with two talents; see, I have gained two more.’

23 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

24 “Then the man who had received the one talent came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed. 25 So I was afraid and went out and hid your talent in the ground. See, here is what belongs to you.’

26 “His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed? 27 Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.

28 “‘Take the talent from him and give it to the one who has the ten talents. 29 For everyone who has will be given more, and he will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him. 30 And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’”

10 Comments Add yours

  1. ~Robin says:

    wow, you did a good job on this! =)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Haha…it’s kind of long XD But. I’ve been wanting to write a poem on that passage for a while now. =P …and I’m pretty happy with the result…=)

      Like

  2. Tiberius Shift says:

    I’m in awe. You’re really good at this sort of thing. And the point of view is amazingly done.

    Like

  3. Tiberius Shift says:

    You do realize that you’ve written nothing for a week now, right? -__-

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      I actually have written some. Nearly an entire chapter, actually. I just am hesitating to finish it…I want it to sound cool, and I’m not quite sure yet how to do that XD I have to work out some plot quirks first. -_-

      Like

  4. Tiberius Shift says:

    Well finish it already. Thalon has yet to shine…and I need something to edit.

    Like

    1. Netya Taethiel says:

      *agrees with Caleb* You need to post more ; ) =)

      Like

  5. Emily says:

    I might be late in coming, but I loveee this poem. Awesome job, even if it is longer. :D Great job, Anna!

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      =) Thanks Emily.

      Like

Thoughts?

