Whispers

No, this is not NaNo-related. So shoot me. ;) It’s not very good. I realize that. But I can’t edit it. So you get to live with it. =)

Whispers

There are voices, voices in my head
Calling to be heard
I can never be truly alone
I hear their every word

I am not the one you think
Simple, uncomplicated me
The voices are calling inside my head
Shouting to be free

Every book that I have read
Each character I have known
They haunt my every waking breath
Into my dreams they’re thrown

I am the Eagle of the Ninth
I am the sword in the stone
I am the Eye in the lands of death
I am the High King on his throne

I am imagination incarnate
Bare-footed, red-headed, and smart
I am the wind wuthering over the moors
Possessing my lover’s cruel heart

I am the Greek bearing gifts in the war
I am the outlaw in green
I am the fair maid, searching ever for violets
I am the Moving Castle machine

So, reach out and speak to me
But do not cease to beware
I cannot say which voice will answer
But speak, speak if you dare

…and if you can decipher any of that and tell me who I’m talking about in the fourth, fifth, and sixth cantos, you get brownies. =)

46 Comments Add yours

  1. Netya Taethiel says:

    Eagle of the Ninth…
    King Arthur…
    Sauron..?
    Aragorn..?
    Anne Shirley…
    Catherine Earnshaw/Linton…=)
    Not sure about the Greek…
    Robin Hood…
    Not sure…
    And not sure.

    *hides* =P I got some. Does I get brownies? O_O

    *likes the poem* ;) =))

    Like

  2. AnnaEstelle says:

    Yes, yes, yes, no, yes, yes, …ok that should be obvious *ahem*=P, yes, O___O, you need to watch more movies.
    Hehehe =P *sends you brownies*

    Like

    1. Netya Taethiel says:

      More movies? Hmph… maybe I WOULD if you told me which ones were good…-_-
      Ohh… er… um… the High King isn’t by any means referring to Peter, is it? o_O If it is… boy do I feel stupid…xD If not, I’s stumped.
      And yeah, I guess I am a little rusty on my Greek mythology. Sadly. -_- Hmph.

      Ooh. O__O Thank you muchly. =D hehe =P

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        Lol! Excuses excuses…; )
        You can feel stupid now. =) *grins* =P
        Ok, so that one isn’t a character as much as a story. =P
        …and I can’t believe you didn’t get the fair maiden one…well, actually I can because it’s slightly obscure…if Em misses that one, I think I’ll just…pass out with shock…or something. =P =P

        Like

      2. Netya Taethiel says:

        *glares* =P
        Fiddlesticks. -______- Failll. =P
        Hm… I still can’t name it. Nor the fair maiden one. Hmph. Email me with all the references..? =P

        …I thought of “violet vale” when I saw that… but that’s not right… hmph. hehehe.

        Like

  3. AnnaEstelle says:

    =D
    Yup.
    …*facepalm* “Beware of Greeks bearing gifts”? …*cough* You obviously studied ancient literature well…O_O =P =P
    Lol! Fineeeee. *will send you all the answers* =P ; )

    Nope. =P =P

    Like

    1. Netya Taethiel says:

      *sigh* *hasn’t studied Greek literature* Just Greek history… and read wayyy too much Greek mythology…hehehe… but I don’t recall that one. Hmph. =P =P

      Like

      1. AnnaEstelle says:

        Yea…Greek history…exactly…=P XD Hahaha…wowwwww. =P *emailed you* XD

        Like

      2. Netya Taethiel says:

        *glares flames* -_-

        Like

  4. eruthaedur says:

    holy cow….you did a good job on that one…..woww Anna…good job=)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      *thinks it’s a fail and needs serious editing help* =P but…I can’t edit it. So…whatever you say. =P

      Like

      1. Netya Taethiel says:

        *thinks it could use a tad bit of editing… like all new poems* But…*agrees very much with Robin* ;) =))

        Like

  5. eruthaedur says:

    O.o …if you think that’s a fail..than…I shall never ever show you anything I’ve written=P lol

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      *cough* too late. =)) ; )

      Like

      1. eruthaedur says:

        *headdessssssssssssssssssssssssssk* *forgot about that* …O_O ..now I feel terribleee…good grief. not terrible. I felt terrible BEFORE. I feel worse now=P *headdesk* ..*reminds self not to be stupid in the future*=P *doubts it will work*

        Like

      2. AnnaEstelle says:

        Hmph. *hopes it doesn’t work* =P

        Like

  6. eruthaedur says:

    Netya why don’t you have an account? ;)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      *grins* Because she isn’t special. And because Elven princesses don’t know how to use WordPress…*glares* =P

      Like

      1. eruthaedur says:

        O.o …I see…lol..

        Like

      2. Netya Taethiel says:

        O__________O

        Anna… you are well on your way to being strangled…

        I do too know how to use WordPress! HOWEVER, I do not feel like making an account. So I just put a name in, and voila! -___-

        *glares flamesss*

        Like

      3. Netya Taethiel says:

        My word… and you are still trusting me to come and stay at your house for a week? *is soooooooooo going to strangle you* -_____________- *glares harder* -_-

        Like

      4. AnnaEstelle says:

        …good point. I retract my invitation. O_O

        Like

  7. Netya Taethiel says:

    Whoa now… you can’t do that! *glares* Hmph. I won’t strangle you if you’ll stop making it almost irresistible… deal?

    Like

      1. eruthaedur says:

        wowwwwww. you invite someone who wants to strangle you and then retract your invitation only to give it back upon reaching a temporary and very flimsy agreement=P

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          yep. That’s how I roll. =)
          *cough*

          Like

  8. eruthaedur says:

    hmph. I see. =) lol that’s how Justin ended up turning up at your house over April vacation. ;)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Yea pretty much…and he didn’t even wear the pink tank top…*sigh* -_- =P

      Like

  9. Josiah=) says:

    yes..but he did practically knock you out the barn window and pull the plasticc out from under you. so he did fulfill at least part of his role=P *glares at Justin*

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      …um…shall we not mention those minor incidents? …
      -________________- =P

      Like

  10. Emily says:

    Anna, I love it. The others not guessed are the Aenied and Howl’s Moving Castle. :)

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      O_O What about the fair maid searching ever for violets? You’d better guess that one XD

      Like

      1. Emily says:

        Ah! Ophelia, of course!

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          Thank goodness. The dancing didn’t quite go to her head. …*coughhhhh* =P Yes. XD

          Like

  11. Dog Food says:

    Yes yes! Great poem… however… they say its bad to have voices in your head o.o
    I love the Moving Castle bit in the poem! Great movie!
    And remember… as far as Rebekah goes for Greek Myths, she’s just read the Percy Jackson series ;) XD

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      *looks at your username* …Luke…I think you have self esteem issues…want me to find some professional help for you? O_o

      Lol! I knew you would…; ) Hehehe =P That bit was for you. ; )
      …*cough*…*chokes* *tries to stifle laughter* …*gives up* *flees room before she sees me laughing uproariously at her and draws a sword or something* O_O
      Hahahahaha…Ouch. Ouchhhhh. =P =P

      Like

      1. Netya Taethiel says:

        Luke Goodling…O_______O You are going to die… you are so going to die. O__O
        *strangles you* *runs after Anna*

        That is a lieee! I used to pour over Greek mythology books for hours… like, seriously. *cough* My book is now falling apart -_- I knew where like every single one of the references in the Percy Jackson series came from… I know all the stories. So there. -____-

        Wowww…=P

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          *giggles* Hehehehehe…=#

          Like

  12. eruthaedur says:

    *thinks this is very entertaining* =P

    Like

  13. Netya Taethiel says:

    -____________-

    You just love laughing at me, don’t you? And just… don’t answer. =P It’s a rhetorical question or something of the sort…*headdesk* -_- =P

    Like

    1. AnnaEstelle says:

      Hehehehehe =D
      …ok, who’s that question directed at? *cough* *grins* *laughs at you* …O_O I mean, *feels sorry for you* O_O

      Like

      1. Netya Taethiel says:

        It was aimed at you, Miss Innocent. But it can go for both -__-

        Like

        1. AnnaEstelle says:

          *innocent smile* *stifles giggles* =)

          Like

      2. eruthaedur says:

        lol…=P I’ll take the question=P because you are entertaining=)

        Like

Thoughts?

